Skip to content

The Romanovs At Saint Rocke, Hermosa Beach, Saturday, August 16th, 2015, Review

11887937_10205567511241841_2191948320755554115_n

Next Silverlake, Tomorrow the World

In a small smokey, dark club in Hermosa Beach, California, the Saint Rocke hosted the elite of L.A.’s movers and shakers who turned out for John Mendelssohn’s new band, The Romanovs.

There was a buzz in the air, much like the club’s previous week’s secret Led Zeppelin reunion, the anticipation was electric. The eclectic mix of bohemians, heiresses, punks, junkies, and cowboys knew they were part of an exclusive club who would witness musical history in the making. Similar to the first Sex Pistols gig at St. Martin’s college and Rodney Bingenheimer’s English Disco on the Sunset Strip, a new scene is burgeoning around The Romanovs and their sexy, spirited singer, Motorina.

The Romanovs, with their own brand of “pre-classic rock, ‘re-imagined” made for some stand out gems last night. ‘Be Mir Bist Du Schon’ and ‘Honey Don’t’ had the audience on their feet and dancing up a storm. Los Angeles scenester John Mendelssohn’s brilliantly arranged music with the combined talents of guitarist Pete Castle (aka The Ledge) and bassist Kirk Henry brought the house down.

The reviews are pouring in! “Magnificent” -The New York Times “A triumph!” – Mason City Country Shopper “Garlicy!” – The Onion

The Romanovs highly anticipated upcoming gig at the Silverlake Lounge, Los Angeles will be the place to be this Monday, August 24th.

2 Comments

  1. jp on August 16, 2015 at 3:03 pm

    Who are Roamin Offs? Why they steal my bant’s name? And leed singker? I will get them.

  2. CLiFF4noronha@GMAiL.com on August 24, 2015 at 4:56 am

    Elle [smith]

    You have taken a sad subject and made it very enjoyable. Like John Mendelssohn himself would have done. Lovely!!

    CLiFF4noronha@GMAiL.com

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

My Top 500 of the 20th Century

By Steve Crawford | September 17, 2021 |

a form of personal jesus

Press Releases For September: Here Are The Artists

By Alyson Camus | September 16, 2021 |

something he learned from his legendary uncle

Rolling Stone’s Latest Top 500 Greatest Songs of All Time List – Bye Bye, Boomer, Bye Bye

By Steve Crawford | September 16, 2021 |

how little this list has in common with the prior ones

Frank Sinatra’s “A Man Alone: The Words And Music Of McKuen” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 16, 2021 |

a disquieted sadness permeates

Biding My Time: Thursday, September 16th, 2021

By Iman Lababedi | September 16, 2021 |

Someday they will match TM and AEG as one of the big three

The 2021 “Legends Of Vinyl’s “Gala Awards Night” New York DJs and Artists Hall Of Fame, Tuesday, September 14th, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 15, 2021 |

we will pass, disco will live on with lov

Brief Encounters: New Album Releases 9-10-21 – 9-16-21 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 15, 2021 |

¿No preferirías tener el modelo de este año?

Courtney Barnett Wants You To Remix Her New Songs

By Alyson Camus | September 15, 2021 |

play around with the different stems

Live Review: SohoJohnny Presents The Let Me Help, Inc 9/11 Fashion and Music Celebrity Benefit Gala Concert @Rumi Event Space 9/11/21

By Eileen Shapiro | September 14, 2021 |

The star studded, Red Carpet Let Me Help, Inc benefit was a celebration of New York City fashion week, as well as a tribute to the 20th anniversary of 9/11.

US Top 10 Singles Dated September 18th, 2021

By Iman Lababedi | September 14, 2021 |

it isn’t in the same league as The Beatles Top Five in 1964

Scroll To Top