Skip to content

In The Dead Of Winter, Here Is City Parks Foundation's Summerstage 2014 Preview!!! January 9th At LPR

The Revive Band

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of the saddest things about the end of summer is saying goodbye to City Parks Foundation’s Summerstage and one of the best things about the dead of winter is the Summer stage preview; reminding us of a time when we didn’t dress in layers. Last year, the Summerstage preview consisted of Shuggie Otis, who went on to enjoy a first rate year, Joshua Nelson who was all over the Mahalia Jackson tribute and DJ Kool Herc, and, as I am sure we all remember, 2013 was the 40th anniversary of the birth of hip hop; the theme of 2013.

So now it is 2014 and the theme? Glad you asked because my bet is the theme will be the 75th Anniversary of Blue Notes records. Here is what I got in the email:

 

For Immediate Release

Winter Jazzfest and City Parks Foundation presents

SummerStage/Charlie Parker Jazz Festival Showcase

Featuring

The Revive Big Band, featuring special guests Bilal and
Dr. Lonnie Smith
Celebrating Blue Note Records 75th Year Anniversary

January 9, 2014
Concert Tickets Available for $15 in Advance

January 2, 2014 – City Parks Foundation, in partnership with the Winter Jazzfest is pleased to announce the SummerStage/Charlie Parker Jazz Festival Showcase, a special event taking place at Le Poisson Rouge on Thursday, January 9, 2014. The Winter Jazzfest turns 10 years old in 2014 and in celebration of this milestone, Winter Jazzfest is expanding to five nights from January 7th through January 11th. As a part of this expansion, Le Poisson Rouge will host a preview of artists that will perform as part of the 2014 SummerStage/Charlie Parker Jazz Festival lineup. This evening will feature The Revive Big Band, featuring special guests Bilal, and Dr. Lonnie Smith.

 So OK, can we all agree 2014 will be to jazz what 2013 was to hip hop at Summerstage? Bilal, whose A Love Surreal was a  fave last year, will be making an appearance at LPR as will The Revive band who, according to their press release”

The musical styles, experience, and tastes of Revive’s members vary widely, but their collective mission is the same. “We’re carrying on, within the tradition of big bands, what would be relevant today,” bandleader Igmar Thomas says. “[We’re] modifying the message and making it translatable, accessible to the people, so that they have something relevant to grasp on to. It represents that little bridge.”

“Revive’s repertoire is an authentic gumbo, featuring original compositions by Thomas, as well as epic orchestrations of selected productions from different producers and notable hip-hop songs combined with the original sampled jazz record, all re-imagined and arranged into original works for a big band.”Our voice is one that has a foot deeply placed in the jazz roots and the tradition of that, à la Dizzy Gillespie and Count Basie – but also, another foot deeply invested in 2012, and so on. That’s the direction: Dizzy, Dilla, and us,” declares Thomas.”

Should be fun. I am going to see John Newman that night but I might try and catch just an hour if I can.

If you want more than that…

Ticket and Show Information
Tickets are required. Tickets are $15 in advance/$18 day of show
Doors open at 7:00PM
Concert begins at 8:00PM

For more event information, including group ticket sales, please visit Le Poisson Rouge’s website at:

http://www.lepoissonrouge.com/lpr_events/wjf10-summerstage-showcase-january-9th-2013/

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

Best Of 2022: Albums by Artist In Alphabetical Order Through November 30th

By Iman Lababedi | December 8, 2022 |

cry her a river

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – March 1981 (Volume 12, Number 10) 

By Steve Crawford | December 8, 2022 |

a wimp or some sissy

Lana Del Rey’s New Song: ”Did You Know That There’s A Tunnel Under Ocean Blvd”

By Alyson Camus | December 8, 2022 |

the same sentimental vintage formula

Brief Encounters: New Albums 12-2-22 – 12-8-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | December 7, 2022 |

the incomparable daughter of Lagos

Eileen Shapiro: “Portfolio Of A Rockstar Journalist” Meets Caleb Quale

By Eileen Shapiro | December 7, 2022 |

I was traveling around and sharing my story in churches

Listen To New Music By Stella Rose, Dave Gahan’s Daughter

By Alyson Camus | December 7, 2022 |

Stella Rose has already played packed-out clubs

“The Beast Inside” Red Carpet Industry Screening, Friday, December 2nd 2022 at Fine Arts Theatre, Beverly Hills Pictorial

By Iman Lababedi | December 6, 2022 |

Here are red carpet pictures from last Friday…

US Top Ten Singles Tracking 11-25-22 – 12-2-22

By Iman Lababedi | December 6, 2022 |

The attack of Christmas lays waste to everyone


 Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – February 1981 (Volume 12, Number 9) 

By Steve Crawford | December 6, 2022 |

day drinking

Going Steady: New Singles 12-2-22 – 12-8-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | December 6, 2022 |

a mini-meet of first rate rap-dance performers

Scroll To Top