Skip to content

Twenty One Pilots’ ‘House Of Gold’ Music Video Reviewed

tyler

Tyler of Twenty One Pilots

 

It’s no secret that I freakin’ love Twenty One Pilots and everything they do, but wow am I impressed everytime they do something new.

They released a music video for their most recent single, “House of Gold”.  For some reason this song just doesn’t really appeal to me much compared to the rest of their stuff, but that doesn’t mean it’s not still incredible.  Tyler Joseph’s voice is chillingly beautiful and though there’s not too much drumming, Josh Dun keeps it simplistic and clean.

The video didn’t really appeal to me at first.  It was a beautiful landscape, out in the country.  Photographically, it’s stunning- it would be a dream to shoot anything there.  The location and the yellow house- perhaps the “house of gold”- made it a visually lovely piece.  And then, like anything TOP does, it got weird.

The boys were split in half.  Tyler’s top half was floating in midair, singing and playing the uke.  Josh woke up and crawled under a truck, banging on the mechanism.  Bizarre.  Then we realise that Josh’s legs are at a kickdrum, and that Tyler’s are just walking around.  It was pretty freakin’ cool, and kinda Halloween-y.  I didn’t quite understand it, until I looked further into the meaning.

Both of the members absolutely love their moms- they talk about this all the time and the song is about that.  The upper halves of their bodies were around the house, in the windows, playing to the woman inside, presumably a mother.  Their hearts were closer to her.  However, their legs were going around, pursuing a music career, or a bigger life outside of the mother.  They’re half and half, caught between their mothers and their booming success.  It’s an insanely intelligent parallel that I applaud the boys for drawing and making so cleverly articulated.

Check it out:

26 Comments

  1. kylen on March 7, 2016 at 10:50 am

    i absolutelly love house of gold and this theory makes way more sense the the other ones ive read

    • herro litl piggy on May 2, 2016 at 4:49 pm

      yeah same i was like great some i knew what the lyrics meant and stuff but not the music video

  2. Tom on September 3, 2016 at 6:36 am

    LOVE THIS SONG

  3. Paige Klingler on September 21, 2016 at 1:05 am

    Well actually the song is about Tyler… not to be rude but your meaning is only 50% correct… Yes half of them want to stay with their mothers, and yes half of them want to play music, but the song is based on Tyler Joseph… The song says,”When your father turns to stone, will you take care of me?” Stone is representing death ((his father died when Tyler was at a very young age)) and its the mother asking him to take care of her because his father is gone. In the song Tyler is singing to his mom.

    • Emma on October 4, 2016 at 9:28 pm

      House of gold is AWESOME! But I too think it means that half of them want to stay with their moms and half want to stay with their career.
      But “let’s say we up and left this town and turned our futures upside down” is him saying he will loving her and being near her is more important than his career.

    • Lisa on October 11, 2016 at 4:13 pm

      Tyler’s father is still alive. He was even in the video for Stressed Out.

      • Trinity on January 25, 2018 at 5:32 pm

        Dude….do you seriously think those people were actually there family? there something called actor ya know.

    • Jack on December 8, 2016 at 12:29 pm

      You’re dumb

      • OwO on March 21, 2017 at 7:36 pm

        and you rude!

    • Alexandra Marquez on July 20, 2017 at 4:30 am

      my dude, tyler’s dad is not dead… Chris is alive and well.

    • Madeline on October 25, 2017 at 6:28 pm

      Tyler’s dad is still alive, he was in the Stressed Out video, hon.

    • Sarah Shelton on October 20, 2021 at 9:21 pm

      His dad is still very much alive lol

  4. UNICORN TOP LOVER!! l-/ on October 20, 2016 at 4:20 pm

    NO ONE IS A TOP FAN AS MUCH AS I AM!!! WHO IS GOING TO THE CONCERT?!?!?!?!?!? I AM!! IN FEBRUARY!!!!!!! IM SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!! SORRY FOR YELLING! Does anyone else ship JOSH + TYLER???

    • |-/ on December 6, 2016 at 10:49 pm

      honestly no i don’t ship them. mostly since tyler is MARRIED to his beautiful wife. so that just doesn’t seem right for the fandom to be shipping them. just my opinion tho.

    • Skeli clique on September 14, 2017 at 10:34 pm

      Know the song Addicted with a pen??

  5. Tyler Joseph on April 18, 2017 at 9:55 pm

    This song is so good!!! My little sister is obsessed with it. Yeah, Tyler’s father is still alive. He was in the “Stressed Out” video. I don’t really understand where that came from. He IS singing to his mother, because she broke her wrist. I’ve read the background story.

  6. Kerrion Cutfeet on September 28, 2017 at 2:19 am

    I’ve liked this video……..but it seems so similar to Annabelle:Creation. The location….house, hills, the truck…..right down to being cut in half….also a couple of other ones I forget. But was hoping to find some info if this was intentional.

  7. Lizzy on October 24, 2017 at 11:26 am

    I didn’t get it at all until I read this thanks for the help. I also love and I mean LOVEEEEEE House of Gold

  8. Larry on April 16, 2018 at 10:38 pm

    Fucking losers

    • Lym on October 12, 2021 at 1:06 pm

      why did you even come to this website which is literally about twenty one pilots if you did it because your curious that’s one thing but if you did it just to call all of us fans losers then your just an asshole.

  9. Larry on April 16, 2018 at 10:39 pm

    Losers twenty one pilot is garbage

    • Jo on July 22, 2018 at 3:16 am

      No body asked you Larry the Lobster

      • Jo on July 23, 2018 at 1:25 am

        In the words of Tyler Joseph
        “Excuse me, could you please leave”?

    • Adam on September 9, 2018 at 7:27 pm

      You know what, Its a band that some people like, and some dont. And nobody asked you, So theres the door.

    • emmanuel gonzalez on December 1, 2019 at 8:48 pm

      twenty one pilots is great and your the real trash bro

  10. Emma Crowley on May 31, 2019 at 1:33 pm

    I loved the song and when I finally saw the video I was so confused. But now looking at the theory that you have put out makes me think that maybe that is the reason behind the video! I love that theory, but it kind of makes me sad.

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

The Twilight Of The Rock N Roll Gods (Parts One To Three)

By Ken Davis | August 14, 2022 |

It’s the music, stupid

Peaches At The Fonda Theatre, Friday August 12th 2022

By Alyson Camus | August 14, 2022 |

a restless and fearless freak show

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – December 1976 (Volume 8, Number 7) 

By Steve Crawford | August 14, 2022 |

like having a pet giraffe

UK Top 10 Albums 8-12-22 – 8-18-22

By Iman Lababedi | August 14, 2022 |

Eminem and Calvin couldn’t move Bey

The Superstars Slate for the End of Summer Solstice – Summer Hot List 2022

By Rhonda Kilpatrick | August 13, 2022 |

summer’s entertainment is rewarded

Gavin Eimerman’s “Deja Vu” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | August 13, 2022 |

compares the end of a romance to the end of life

UK Top 10 Singles 8-12-22 – 8-18-22

By Iman Lababedi | August 13, 2022 |

House pure and simple

L. A. Burning, West Coast Concert Picks August 15th To 21st

By Alyson Camus | August 12, 2022 |

Father John Misty has 2 nights at Hollywood Forever Cemetery

The Early Bird: Top New Recorded Releases 8-12-22 – 8-18-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | August 12, 2022 |

lays down his claim to being a giant

Elvis Costello And The Imposters and Nick Lowe And Los Straightjackets At The Rooftop At Pier 17, Thursday, August 11th, 2022

By Iman Lababedi | August 12, 2022 |

embraces the moment with a big smile

Scroll To Top