Skip to content

Enter Shikari "Call Me Maybe" Cover Reviewed

'Oi! I just met you, and this is crazy…'

Is it possible that hardcore band Enter Shikari has a soft and sensitive side? Yep.  This adorable and well done cover show that they can get acoustic in a good way.

The song is done so well with such a gentle sense of humour that you cant help but fall for it.  I know Carlie Rae Jepson tune is literally EVERYWHERE but what a wonderful surprise to find it done like this.  We covered fun.'s version, meh it was ok but this?  This is a glorious tribute to a catchy pop tune.

I adore vocalist Rou Reynolds ability to make it manly and not so parody as you would expect.  The subtle smile to his bandmates sends a 'wtf are we doing message' but vocally there is no horseplay- amazingly well done.

This casual shoeless assembly took place at the NME offices and I am pleased as pie with it.  One of the best covers I have heard in a long long time.

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

Sneak Peaks: Upcoming Album Releases 2-3-23 – 2-9-23

By Iman Lababedi | January 29, 2023 |

return to the top of country

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – January 1983 (Volume 14, Number 8)

By Steve Crawford | January 29, 2023 |

a cow with eighteen udders

Bob Marley One Love Experience At Ovation Hollywood

By Alyson Camus | January 29, 2023 |

“a journey through his life, passions, influences, and enduring legacy”

Yours truly with the true Godfather Giannini Russo who played Carlo in the original Godfather

By admin | January 28, 2023 |

the true Godfather Giannini Russo

UK Top 10 Albums 1-27-23 – 2-2-23

By Iman Lababedi | January 28, 2023 |

Has Brit rock ever been worse?

UK Top 10 Singles 1-27-23 – 2-2-23

By Iman Lababedi | January 28, 2023 |

essence de 2023

Press Releases For January, Here Are The Artists

By Alyson Camus | January 27, 2023 |

A very percussive song

The Early Bird: Top New Recorded Releases 1-27-23 – 3-2-23 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | January 27, 2023 |

the mixes his producer Daniel Lanois didn’t like

The Earliest Bird: Top New Recorded Release 1-27-23 – 2-2-23, Rosalia’s “LLYLM”) Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | January 27, 2023 |

her best since “Milionària”

Brief Encounters: New Albums 1-20-23 – 1-26-23 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | January 26, 2023 |

dip yourself deep in sonic hellaciousness and disquiet

Scroll To Top