Skip to content

Sean Bones' Buzzard Boys At Mercury Lounge, Friday, February 22nd, 2012

Sean Bones seems like a perfectly pleasant guy, with a nice pop band who dabble in Island riddems though for pop not rock effect, so less Sublime, more Colbie Caillat.

If that sounds like a backhanded compliment. Give the man credit where due, he is an excellent songwriter and his half hour set with his backing band Buzzard Boy was filled with catchy well paid, well sung and, damn it, well executed songs. It takes him around three songs but by the third Sean has found a groove and in a band that moves on its spaces, nothing is much more important. It isn't quite lover's rock but it has the swing of lover's rock and the audience were giving him a good ride.

I'm in a rush to get to the Governor's Ball gig so let me cheat off Sean's press release: "Its easy to imagine hearing this album out doors, at night. A full listen reveals a wide range of influences digested into something wholly Bones' own. "Tell Me Again" is a folky harmonium piece played over what sounds like the Miami Sound Machine. "Four Dub" explores open space and urgency. The sublime "Black Gold" starts with a scruffy hip hop beat until giving way to another one of those swoony boy-girl ballads that he's good at.."

Hmmm, OK but that's not what was getting me off and "Black Gold", played last was a bore. Part of that is Sean isn't a prepossessing front man. Not bad but certainly not very exciting. Also, he should flip his last two songs because it ends on a downer.

But, I enjoyed it and swayed just like he said I would.

Grade: B

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

US Top Ten Singles Tracking 9-23-22 – 9-29-22

By Iman Lababedi | October 4, 2022 |

at the top of the singles charts and at the top of the movie box office

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – November 1978 (Volume 10, Number 6) 

By Steve Crawford | October 4, 2022 |

I’m not taking the band QUITE as seriously as I once did

Rocky Kramer’s Rock & Roll Tuesdays Presents “Rocktober” On Tuesday October 4th, 2022 7 PM PT on Twitch

By admin | October 3, 2022 |

Rocky Kramer will be hosting “Rocktober” on this week’s episode of Rocky Kramer’s Rock & Roll Tuesdays on Twitch. Tune into Twitch on Tuesday, October 4th, at 7 PM PT for this amazing show. Rocky Kramer is a guitar virtuoso, often being compared to the greatest guitar players in the world. Rocky has performed on…

Stories of SURRENDER — The Book Tour With, Yes, Bono

By admin | October 3, 2022 |

“In these shows I’ve got some stories to sing, and some songs to tell…”

Best Of 2022: Albums by Artist In Alphabetical Order Through September 30th

By Iman Lababedi | October 3, 2022 |

heavy metal all killa

US Top Ten Albums Tracking 9-23-22 – 9-29-22

By Iman Lababedi | October 3, 2022 |

a scary 87K EAUs

Sneak Peaks: Upcoming Album Release 10-7-22 – 10-13-22

By Iman Lababedi | October 3, 2022 |

don’t let her father distract you

Kevin Morby At The Belasco Theatre, Saturday October 1st 2022

By Alyson Camus | October 3, 2022 |

his sonic landscape largely exceeds his simple roots in folk

The globally streamed 6 hour concert presented by Fenix360 and WOWtv for the “Let Me Help Inc.org Foundation” (a 501c3 charity) for “Children of the World”, Saturday, October 1st, 2022, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | October 2, 2022 |

between the needs of charity, the needs of empathy

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – October 1978 (Volume 10, Number 5) 

By Steve Crawford | October 2, 2022 |

pretty heavy drama

Scroll To Top