Auditions And Sob Stories by Mary Magpie

American Idol? Not the show the majority of kids in my school watch, it’s more like House or Glee or Secret Life of the American Teenager. When asking why, the responses are all remotely the same. “It’s lame/boring/pointless/no one’s good anyway”. I can agree with that, but the auditions entertain me. I find hilarity in those who come in, claiming to be wonderful with their heads held high only to be flat, boring, or just bad. Ego gets you nowhere, it’s talent. While watching the premiere, some performances were notable- Maddy Curtis, Jess Wolfe, Amadeo, Tyler Grady, Josh Blaylock, Katie Stevens, and Justin were pretty much the only ones who caught my attention with talent and not gimmicks.

Sob stories are one thing I just can’t stand despite the talent. Yes, you have it rough, but you’re here to get a better life, a chance, blah blah blah. An audition is an audition, we don’t need to know your whole life story.

As for how this season will turn out, I think it’s not going to be all that great. Talented, showy, but nothing new. Unless AI does something interesting rather than the same old monotonous process of the competition, they’re more than likely going to lose viewers.

But we have to sit back and see just how this season will turn out… So who IS the next American Idol?

Scroll to Top