Skip to content

The Legends Of Vinyl DJ And Artists Hall Of Fame Awards At Amadeus, Tuesday, September 17th, 2019, Reviewed

 

Revenge is best served cold, and 56 year old disco diva, Quebec’s own France Joli, joined the entertainment business at the age of eleven, and had a disco smash at the age of sixteen, got her revenge for all of us last night at Amadeus Nightclub. Upon induction to the The Legends Of Vinyl DJ And Artists Hall Of Fame Awards, she roared “For all of you who said ‘disco sucks’? Go fuck yourself…” A blessedly profane response that you wish somebody had thought of in 1979. SohoJohnny Pasquale, on stage as a friend of France, cracked up and the entire club erupted in a loud roar of approval.

Disco emerged out of the funk and r&b Philadelphia and New York scenes mixed with a Teutonic, four on the floor, adherence to the tightest of beats, a bright and sparkling response to the increasingly bloated early 1970s rock scene, disco was an inclusive, multi-racial, gay friendly, explosion of dance and beats that continues today under the guise of EDM pop by people like Ariana Grande and Katy Perry. The Legends Of Vinyl emerged and expanded from the DJ Hall Of Fame a few years ago and has continued to expand.

Last year, The Legends of Vinyl (LOV) had a huge induction party. This year there was over three hours of awards before the after party. Lead by Luis Mario, a DJ legend with over 44 years of experience, and MC’d by Al Magliano, who began DJing at the age of sixteen, and was the house DJ at the legendary Envoy East in the early 1970s, the two inducted over twenty industry leaders, DJs, and artist to the Hall Of Fame. And while there was an occasional hiccup, among them a rowdy and loud audience, they pulled it off with a little help from a lot of friends.

I was there as a guest of rocknyc.live partner SohoJohnny, Event Production and Artist Management as noted in the playbill. The evening began with a posthumous award  for The Trammps’ lead singer Jimmy Ellis, presented to his widow and to his daughter, and continued through the night including producer and DJ Dayne Holt, who spun at Studio 54 as well as two of my favorite clubs of the 1980s, Area and Danceteria, Joel Diamond (2x Grammy Nominated Producer of 36 Gold & Platinum Records, Songwriter, & Music Publisher ) and more. “First Ladies Of Disco” author James Arena was given the Legacy Award and the first annual Icon award went to DJ, Producer , and club owner Nicky Siano. There were so many stories of early disco, teenagers becoming DJs, forming record labels, performing at legendary outpost like Studio 54, Copacabana, Paradise Garage… Felipe Rose (of the Village People) was there. So was Eddie Rivera of the Record Pool Founder: International Disco Record.

But for a music guy like me, the pleasure was in the artists receiving an award and then singing for their supper! Top of the list, France Joli taking us to Fire Island for  “Come To Me,” and Anita Ward performing “Ring My Bell”. But we also got Musique 2, Company B, Alisha, Joe Bataan, Cheryl Rae among others. A terrific DJ (whose, amusingly enough, name I didn’t catch) was on the money  all night long. And at the end of the ceremony France sang Happy Birthday to Luis. He deserved it. Last night a DJ saved my life, isn’t just a song, it is a mantra for a music that has changed more than a few lives, it was an honor to pay tribute to them.

All inductees: Alisha, Anita Ward, Cherrill Rae Yates (The Raes), Susan Maria Gonzalez and Company B, France Joli, Ivery Bell (Moment Of Truth), Joe Bataan, Joel Diamond, Lottie Dah, Member of the group Musique Mary Seymour, and Carole Sylvan, Kim Miller, The Ritchie Family (Cassandra Wooten, Cheryl Mason-Dorman, Renee Guillory-Wearing), Tanaa Gardner. Industry and DJ Honorees will be Barry Harris, Bobby Morales, Charlie Anzalone, Darryl Payne, Dwayne Holt, Jorge Wheeler, Leslie B. Doyle, Tony Moran, Michael Weiss, Steve Bogen, Author James Arena (The First Ladies of Disco) will be presented with the Legacy Award. In addition, the organization is proud to present the 2019 Icon Of The Year Award to Nicky Siano.

Company B

 

Musique 2

 

 

France Joli

 

Cheryl Rae

 

 

21 Comments

  1. william krauter on September 19, 2019 at 12:53 pm

    Looks like it was an excellent evening. I sure wish I was there for the festivities!
    Congratulations everyone on an outstanding evening, and representing an
    era of music that still lives on today… I am so proud to be a DJ who has and is still living
    the the greatness of Disco & dance music… 42 years and counting!

    • Luis Mario O. Rizzo on September 24, 2019 at 8:39 am

      Thank you William, It sure was a memorable evening, and congratulations on you 42 years
      L.O.V. is the message!

  2. Ivery Bell on September 22, 2019 at 7:17 pm

    In a nutshell I find Legends of Vinyl to a Grade A Class Organization. The many members and honorees include celebrated hit making artists who’s music has stood the test of time. The LOV awards event for 2019 was a fun filled magnificent evening where I saw so many dear friends as we celebrated the music we have made over the years. Shout out to Luis Mario O Rizo for the outstanding job he did of coordinating this wonderful event. I look supporting this organization for years to come.

    • Luis Mario O. Rizzo on September 24, 2019 at 8:42 am

      Thank you Ivery for your kind words, and thank you for being part of this wonderful evening,
      L.O.V. is the message!

  3. Luis Mario O. Rizzo on September 22, 2019 at 7:19 pm

    Thank you Iman Lababedi for an amazing article.
    Much love!
    Luis Mario
    Founder & C.E.O.
    Legends of Vinyl™LLC
    Legends of Vinyl DJ & Artists Hall of Fame

    • admin on September 22, 2019 at 7:26 pm

      Thank you for all you’ve done for so many of us. All the best, Iman

  4. Joy Dorris on September 22, 2019 at 7:21 pm

    As a Legacy Award recipient I can not say enough about this organization, it’s Board of Directors and all they are doing to preserve the history of so many who have given and still give so much to the music industry. The research the board does on its award nominees is in depth and on point. The LOV organization is branching out around the world to continue to spread respect , recognition and love. Luis Mario ~ I speak for MANY when I say thank you for all your hard work and dedication . This last event, as each one has been, was a great evening bringing together so many ! Kudos

    • Luis Mario O. Rizzo on September 24, 2019 at 8:45 am

      Thank you, my dear, Joy, it was so great to have you and Rob with us and being a presenter to James Arena. We always have so much fun. See you soon. Much Love!

  5. Robert Nunez on September 22, 2019 at 7:24 pm

    I’ve been a true Disco fanatic since I was 11 years old. That was back in 1975 when we started hearing songs on the radio like Hijack, Bad Luck, The Hustle, and Get Down Tonight. All I can really remember while my sister was in her first year in college, I was going through a very rough period in my life while I was going to school. Once I started discovering the love of Disco music, I knew somehow my life would change forever. From the time I changed schools, it lead me to start going to parties. By the time I was 13 and 14, I would dance like John Travolta. All my friends called me the Disco Kid. But LOV was one of the best dance parties ever, and I really enjoyed it. I would like to be part of the committee by volunteering the events sometime in the near future.

    • Dwayne on September 23, 2019 at 5:16 am

      I attended the Legends of vinyl awards on September 17th. It was awesome. As far as I know it is the only organization working to preserve Dance Music/ Disco culture. It is a completely professional organization. The board of directors and everyone involved are known and highly respected veterans in the Disco World. Dance music royalty have received this award, DJ Legends have received this award. At the Sep 17th ceremony DJ Nicky Siano received the prestigious 2019 Icon of the year award. Nicky Siano is the original DJ from Studio 54. I myself am a DJ from Studio 54 and a disco music historian. I know that the Legends Of Vinyl presentations are 100% accurate. The people who put this together were there at the beginning, in 1968, 69, 70, at the beginning of Disco. Luis Mario is serious about the preservation of Dance music. If you’ve never been to a Legends of vinyl event, do yourself a favor.

      • Luis Mario O. Rizzo on September 24, 2019 at 8:56 am

        My friend Dwayne, thank you for your beautiful comment, I congratulate you for your recognition into the Legends of Vinyl DJ Hall of Fame. I’m looking forward to continuing to make history not just in New York but in Florida. See you soon.

    • Luis Mario O. Rizzo on September 24, 2019 at 8:47 am

      Thank you Robert for your loyalty to the great Disco era. It was great seeing you at the event.

  6. Sue Bell on September 22, 2019 at 10:07 pm

    I have nothing but respect for the Legends of Vinyl organization and my fellow Officers and members of the Board of Directors. Countless hours of work by our Founder and C.E.O. Luis Mario go into producing this event (a labor of L.O.V. of course!!), and I, among others, are happy to assist him. To be chosen to receive an award is an honor coveted by many. These events will continue to shine for years to come!! Congratulations to the Class of 2019 and all past Honorees. Sincerely, Sue Bell, Vice President of Administration

    • Luis Mario O. Rizzo on September 24, 2019 at 8:50 am

      My dear friend Sue, I can always count on you to make my work so very easy and accomplish my vision as we, the L.O.V. organization continue to make history across the country and now we are reaching to Europe. Much Love to you!

  7. John Spectre on September 23, 2019 at 2:30 am

    in response to Jan Pawul, before writing anything it would be necessary to have created something that comes close to what Louis Mario did and I don’t think this person did it. Louis has done a lot for music and deserves all respect from the world of music as DJs. If this person is envious, it is only his problem and not the musical world. Being able to create an engaging evening, with the stars who made the disco music and a feat that only one person could do and this person is called Louis Mario Orelllana Rizo, and not like this unknown JW. Thanks Louis for the magic you managed to create.

    • Luis Mario O. Rizzo on September 24, 2019 at 8:53 am

      Hi John, I appreciate your comment to Mr. Pawul. As you well know we at the L.O.V. organization have achieved recognition and the respect of all our peer in the industry and I’m so happy that you are a big part of it. I can very proudly say…L.O.V. is the message!

  8. Luis Mario O. Rizzo on September 24, 2019 at 8:39 am

    Thank you William, It sure was a memorable evening, and congratulations on you 42 years
    L.O.V. is the message!

  9. Michael Irizarry on September 24, 2019 at 7:14 pm

    I have to tell you all that it was my very first time at the Legends Of Vinyl in New York City on September 17th, 2019 and I had one of the best times of my entire life. My dear friend Luis Mario O. Rizzo you have been doing such a wonderful and amazing job with these events and I congratulate you and support you on all you have done and will continue to do. I have been a music lover my entire life and have supported all these classic artists for decades and have become friends with many of them. They know how much I love and support them and always will. It was my great honor and pleasure to be with some of my very dear friends/artists/dj’s in the VIP section of Legends Of Vinyl showing them 100% love and support which they always get from me. I look forward to Legends of Vinyl in 2020. I am always there to show my love and support to all my favorite friends/artists/dj’s in the music/entertainment business and of course you Luis Mario O. Rizzo. From Michael Irizarry with LOVE.

    • Luis Mario O. Rizzo on September 24, 2019 at 8:12 pm

      WOW! Michael, thank you so much for your kind words, I’m looking forward to producing 2020. So glad you will be there. I will try not to disappoint!

  10. Manny Pintado on May 2, 2020 at 3:50 pm

    To me The LOV Awards Night is more than just awards, is the way Luis Mario, Ray Caviano, Ray Pinky Velasquez, Al Magliano, Sue and every member from LOV Have kept the Music so alive and have given the well deserved awards to DJ’s, artists, music producers, and industry members for their incredible hard work. My wife and I are so blessed to be members from The best Awards Organization. Here for 20 more years.
    Life is Music
    Music is Love &
    Love is The Message.

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

The Early Bird: Top New Recorded Releases 12-3-21 – 12-9-21 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | December 3, 2021 |

SZA’s best since 2017

The Earliest Bird: Top Recorded Release For 12-3-21 – 12-9-21. Arca’s kick ii, iii, iiii, iiiii, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | December 3, 2021 |

the state of pop art is somewhere in Arca’s sound

Acid Tongue Release Third Album, “Arboretum”

By Alyson Camus | December 3, 2021 |

part glam-rock opus, part mixtape

Best Of 2021: Songs In Order Of Preference Through November 30th, 2021

By Iman Lababedi | December 2, 2021 |

an ear candy of epic proportions

Best Of 2021: Albums In Alphabetical Order By Artist Through November 30th

By Iman Lababedi | December 2, 2021 |

shot dead

Substance Festival At The Belasco, Sunday November 28th 2021

By Alyson Camus | December 2, 2021 |

an immersive sonic experience

Loïc Gouzer: Particle – Making Fine Art Accessible to All

By Eileen Shapiro | December 1, 2021 |

Particle is on a mission to revolutionize the fine art industry and every work acquired by the company will be included in the “Particle Foundation,” a nonprofit that will maintain, display, and tour the collection on behalf of the community.

Luke Combs’ What You See Is What You Get Tour At Madison Square Garden, Tuesday, November 30th, 2021, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | December 1, 2021 |

lives and dies with his songs

Brief Encounters: New Album Releases 11-26-21 – 12-2-21

By Iman Lababedi | December 1, 2021 |

an immaculate collection

Live Review: Randy Edelman “A Life In 80 Minutes” @ Chelsea Table & Stage in NYC, Nov.27, 2021 By Harley Rain

By admin | November 30, 2021 |

Live Review: Randy Edelman “A Life In 80 Minutes” @ Chelsea Table & Stage in NYC, Nov.27, 2021

Scroll To Top