Skip to content

The Early Bird: Top New Releases 12-28-18 – 1-3-19 Reviewed

This is how the years pass by in a rush, the move from one to another as imperceptibly as the 12-28 to 1-3 and off we go again headline here, a mad rush ever forward till it stops.

Sure, life is quiet on Christmas week, but quiet isn’t dead. And there are two huge releases at the top of the post: Bad Bunny’s debut album X 100PRE which exploded in raves and streams galore, a huge album and one that instantaneously found its way on my top ten list. If you haven’t heard of the King of Latin Trap, and poster boy for everything great about Latin Pop, you haven’t been reading rock nyc, we have written about the producer and slurred, character filled singer, countless times since 2016, culminating in a game changing performance in August 2017 at Mega Summer Concert At Madison Square Garden (here). At the time I wrote “Bad Bunny came out to screams of adoration before snapping “turn up the fucking bass” and bringing the entire evening to whole other levels of energy. On record, Bad Bunny has a dark trap sound, I dubbed him Latin pop’s “Drake” though the 23 year year old is nearly young enough to be Drake’s son.” Drake would go on to feature on the smash hit “MIA,” that closes X 100PRE. It’s a highlight but so is everything else, though 53 minutes in length it feels shorter as it bends and blends Latin pop tropes along with US hip hop sensibility (Grade: A).

The other biggie is Dej Loaf’s ‘Go Dej Go’ Vol 1 -I guess her album in volumes, and a strong return to rapping. Six songs, two oldies, four new ones and the top of the EP is also the best on the EP, “Big Shit Talking” -though don’t let that put you off as she goes 6 for 6 (Grade: A).

On to the singles, which also quiet, though at the top is “Masters of War – SherGun Remix” yes, the Bob Dylan classic given a full tilt and deep bass metallic and brittle remix by  Drew Sherrod & Strange Daddy (as if it wasn’t dramatic enough already), from the Jack Ryan reboot on Amazon (Grade: B+). I wish Robbie williams performed in the States more often, I’ve seen him twice over the decades, once at Jingle Ball and once at Hammerstein Ballroom…. “I Just Want To People To Like Me” is a fun rocker with backbone, that must be a stormer on stage (Grade: B+). Russ, as popular a rap meets singer songwriter as you’ll find, has a real tearjerker with “Nobody Knows” (Grade: B+). To end off the singles for the year (more or less), Post Malone’s “Wow.” A strong little song, with Post has clearly out front as ever and less a pop swoon than “Sunflower” and more a reminder that he can do it because he can do it (Grade: B+).

There is more but I think I’ll hold off telling you about Jamie Cullum’s cover of “I Took A Pill In Ibiza” till very early next year (hint: he ups the American Songbook till it doesn’t exist), though it makes you wish he was still opening for Billy Joel at MSG.

 

X 100PRE – Bad Bunny – B+

Masters of War – SherGun Remix – Bob Dylan, Drew Sherrod & Strange Daddy – B+

‘Go Dej Go’ Vol 1 – Dej Loaf – A

Wow. – Post Malone – B+

Nobody Knows – Russ – B

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

The Earliest Bird 9-17-21 – 9-23-21 Top New Recorded Release, Lil Nas X’s “Montero” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 17, 2021 |

Wanna get fucked up the ass? Get famous.

My Top 500 of the 20th Century

By Steve Crawford | September 17, 2021 |

a form of personal jesus

Press Releases For September: Here Are The Artists

By Alyson Camus | September 16, 2021 |

something he learned from his legendary uncle

Rolling Stone’s Latest Top 500 Greatest Songs of All Time List – Bye Bye, Boomer, Bye Bye

By Steve Crawford | September 16, 2021 |

how little this list has in common with the prior ones

Frank Sinatra’s “A Man Alone: The Words And Music Of McKuen” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 16, 2021 |

a disquieted sadness permeates

Biding My Time: Thursday, September 16th, 2021

By Iman Lababedi | September 16, 2021 |

Someday they will match TM and AEG as one of the big three

The 2021 “Legends Of Vinyl’s “Gala Awards Night” New York DJs and Artists Hall Of Fame, Tuesday, September 14th, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 15, 2021 |

we will pass, disco will live on with lov

Brief Encounters: New Album Releases 9-10-21 – 9-16-21 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 15, 2021 |

¿No preferirías tener el modelo de este año?

Courtney Barnett Wants You To Remix Her New Songs

By Alyson Camus | September 15, 2021 |

play around with the different stems

Live Review: SohoJohnny Presents The Let Me Help, Inc 9/11 Fashion and Music Celebrity Benefit Gala Concert @Rumi Event Space 9/11/21

By Eileen Shapiro | September 14, 2021 |

The star studded, Red Carpet Let Me Help, Inc benefit was a celebration of New York City fashion week, as well as a tribute to the 20th anniversary of 9/11.

Scroll To Top