Skip to content

The Earliest Bird: Top New Recorded Release 8-13-21 – 8-19-21 Yemi Alades’ “Queendoncom” Reviewed

I haven’t kicked into full time concert going again, and I probably never shall. Not just because I have no money, not just because I’m old enough now to not have the energy, but also because after that awful Bright Eyes gig last week (here), I can’t take the hassle for exceedingly small reward. The exception is the Afrobeats Nigerian Queen, Yemi Alade. The moment tickets went on sale for her October 6th, 2021 Le Poisson Rouge gig I was there. Of course I was.

In 2019 I first listened to the 32 year old singer songwriter on Beyonce’s The Lion King: The Gift “My Power” and followed it in 2020 with Yemi’s masterful Empress. Earlier this year she dropped “Enjoyment” and today we received the EP Queendomcom (geddit?), seven songs of lovely and femme centric African pop songs. While there is nothing as immediately enthralling as “Yoyoyo,” everything travels between African House and Nigerian pop crafts. It is all great. And “Sweety” is an immensely lovely, dance hall accented, pop dream track.

Grade: A-

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

Billy Crystal In “Mr. Saturday Night” at Nederland Theatre, Tuesday, May 24th, 2022, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | May 26, 2022 |

weaving a fairy tale for us to get lost in

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – July 1973 (Volume 5, Number 2) 

By Steve Crawford | May 26, 2022 |

“I don’t consider David (Bowie) to be even remotely big enough to be any competition.”

Brushes With Greatness: SohoJohnny Meets Mickey Burns And Al Bandiero

By Iman Lababedi | May 25, 2022 |

an old school New York feel

Movie Roles Elvis Presley Turned Down!

By Iman Lababedi | May 25, 2022 |

oedipal vulnerable and blue collar visceral

Press Releases For May: Here Are The Artists

By Alyson Camus | May 25, 2022 |

An emotional song with Miya’s acrobatic and vulnerable vocals

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – May 1973 (Volume 4, Number 12)

By Steve Crawford | May 24, 2022 |

From Robert Johnson to the Ramones – what a life!

US Top 10 Singles Tracking 5-13-22 – 5-19-22

By Iman Lababedi | May 24, 2022 |

one of the great top tens of the 2020

Bruce Springsteen and The E Street Band Announce 2023 International Tour

By Iman Lababedi | May 24, 2022 |

will mark their return to the road in early February, 2023 with a string of to-be-announced US arena dates

Brief Encounters: New Albums 5-20-22 – 5-26-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | May 24, 2022 |

enjoyable and soulful romp

Just Like Heaven, Saturday May 21st 2022

By Alyson Camus | May 24, 2022 |

another full day of music

Scroll To Top