Skip to content

The Earliest Bird: Top New Recorded Release 9-3-21 – 9-9-21, ABBA’s “I Still Have Faith In You/Don’t Shut Me Down” Reviewed

ABBack After 40 Years

You can’t go home again although Abba are taking a voyage and fast forwarding through two movies and two musicals (if you include “Chess”) to return to a place where their forward thinking 70s synth pop with wonky lyrics lives again.

Yesterday, ABBA announced a show of sorts at Wembley Stadium for seven concerts starting May 27th, 2022, using youthful avatars and a live ten piece orchestra they plan to perform without leaving their homes and, equally if not even more exciting, dropped two new songs. “I Still Have Faith In You” and “Don’t Shut Me Out” off a November 5th album release.

Both songs are middle of the road ABBA, neither one a “Mamma Mia” or a “Take A Chance On Me” and yet both on a par with, say, “Thank You For The Music”. Or the real avatar here, “Winner Takes It All”. From the press release: “It’s been a while since we made music together, almost 40 years, actually. We took a break in the spring of 1982 and now we’ve decided it’s time to end it. They say it’s foolhardy to wait more than 40 years between albums, so we’ve recorded a follow-up to The Visitors. To tell the truth, the main inspiration to record again comes from our involvement in creating the strangest and most spectacular concert you could ever dream of. We’re going to be able to sit back in an audience and watch our digital selves perform our songs on a stage in a custom-built arena in London next spring. Weird and wonderful!”

“Don’t Shut Me Down” is a two part harmony from the As, a synthy bouncer that is too close to a plod, and the real keeper, “I Still Have Faith In You” is a nostalgia dream of resurrection where the past merges with the balance of the present in an orchestrated song the Bs could have slipped into “Chess”. It is the one that will remind you of the ABBA of “The Winner Takes It All” where its bigness is sad and yet illuminating of the passing of time.

This is all very, er, weird not wonderful. Imagine if the Beatles returned with “Baby, I’m A Rich Man”: -a good song, no doubt, but after fifty years hardly earth shattering. ABBA, the top pop band of the 1970s, have done just about that and with about as much success.

Grade: B

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

‘Faith, Hope and Carnage,’ A New Book By Nick Cave

By Alyson Camus | September 18, 2021 |

‘It has been a strange, anchoring pleasure’

The Earliest Bird 9-17-21 – 9-23-21 Top New Recorded Release, Lil Nas X’s “Montero” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 17, 2021 |

Wanna get fucked up the ass? Get famous.

My Top 500 of the 20th Century

By Steve Crawford | September 17, 2021 |

a form of personal jesus

Press Releases For September: Here Are The Artists

By Alyson Camus | September 16, 2021 |

something he learned from his legendary uncle

Rolling Stone’s Latest Top 500 Greatest Songs of All Time List – Bye Bye, Boomer, Bye Bye

By Steve Crawford | September 16, 2021 |

how little this list has in common with the prior ones

Frank Sinatra’s “A Man Alone: The Words And Music Of McKuen” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 16, 2021 |

a disquieted sadness permeates

Biding My Time: Thursday, September 16th, 2021

By Iman Lababedi | September 16, 2021 |

Someday they will match TM and AEG as one of the big three

The 2021 “Legends Of Vinyl’s “Gala Awards Night” New York DJs and Artists Hall Of Fame, Tuesday, September 14th, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 15, 2021 |

we will pass, disco will live on with lov

Brief Encounters: New Album Releases 9-10-21 – 9-16-21 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 15, 2021 |

¿No preferirías tener el modelo de este año?

Courtney Barnett Wants You To Remix Her New Songs

By Alyson Camus | September 15, 2021 |

play around with the different stems

Scroll To Top