Skip to content

The Earliest Bird: The Top New Recorded Release 8-27-21 – 9-2-21, The Beatles’ “Let It Be (2021 Mix)” Reviewed

Was

There isn’t a Beatles album that isn’t among my favorites of all time but there are a number of songs I’m not crazy about and “Let It Be” is high on the list, another Mccartney came in a dream track calling out to his late mother, the Mary in question, and while when I was eleven buying the box set with the wonderful book of pictures where the binder came apart and the pictures floated about BHS, I loved it then, but I got sick of it decades ago and every time Paulie performs it on stage I squirm in my seat.

The 2021 mix cleans it up better than on Naked, stripped down and souped out there is earnestness that defuses one of Macca’s rare occasions of pretension (blame Phil Spector, no wonder he was furious) and I don’t hate it anymore and might have to pick on “Yesterday” till further notice.

The George Harrison track “For You Blue” is the famous Glynis Johns mix, which I figure we will be getting the entire album on the Box Set dropping October 15th is better than Spector with that awesome slide guitar break a highlight and the simple, almost parodic, lyric.

Best of all is the John Lennon song for Yoko Ono, “Don’t Let Me Down,” the first rooftop performance, with Lennon forgetting the lyric and singing a beautiful bit of gibberish where words are not needed at all to convey the power of early love. Plus, Billy Preston is a little forgotten today, but his piano break is glorious.

Grade: A

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

The Earliest Bird 9-17-21 – 9-23-21 Top New Recorded Release, Lil Nas X’s “Montero” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 17, 2021 |

Wanna get fucked up the ass? Get famous.

My Top 500 of the 20th Century

By Steve Crawford | September 17, 2021 |

a form of personal jesus

Press Releases For September: Here Are The Artists

By Alyson Camus | September 16, 2021 |

something he learned from his legendary uncle

Rolling Stone’s Latest Top 500 Greatest Songs of All Time List – Bye Bye, Boomer, Bye Bye

By Steve Crawford | September 16, 2021 |

how little this list has in common with the prior ones

Frank Sinatra’s “A Man Alone: The Words And Music Of McKuen” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 16, 2021 |

a disquieted sadness permeates

Biding My Time: Thursday, September 16th, 2021

By Iman Lababedi | September 16, 2021 |

Someday they will match TM and AEG as one of the big three

The 2021 “Legends Of Vinyl’s “Gala Awards Night” New York DJs and Artists Hall Of Fame, Tuesday, September 14th, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 15, 2021 |

we will pass, disco will live on with lov

Brief Encounters: New Album Releases 9-10-21 – 9-16-21 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 15, 2021 |

¿No preferirías tener el modelo de este año?

Courtney Barnett Wants You To Remix Her New Songs

By Alyson Camus | September 15, 2021 |

play around with the different stems

Live Review: SohoJohnny Presents The Let Me Help, Inc 9/11 Fashion and Music Celebrity Benefit Gala Concert @Rumi Event Space 9/11/21

By Eileen Shapiro | September 14, 2021 |

The star studded, Red Carpet Let Me Help, Inc benefit was a celebration of New York City fashion week, as well as a tribute to the 20th anniversary of 9/11.

Scroll To Top