Skip to content

Oldies But Goldies: Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats At The Echo, Monday June 29th 2015 Review

11313162_706094782834044_8596675647065723944_o

Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats

 

I keep seeing the name Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats everywhere, on Tuesday, Outside Lands lineup was revealed and yes his name was on the list, just before Foals and Lord Huron, the band from Denver is also part of the Coachella lineup next week, part of the Lollapalooza lineup in Chicago in July! Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats are even part of Project Pabst festival in Portland in August – and their name come just after Duran Duran and Ice Cube. They also had a late-night television debut on the tonight show with Jimmy Fallon last year… This band made it big for sure! And I still can’t believe I saw them during one of these free Monday residencies at the Echo, almost a year ago, on July 1st 2015, just before they blow up!

It is always amazing to see how fast a band can make it big because this is really the case for Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats. That night, the crowd was rather thin, it was a Monday night after all, and most people visibly didn’t know who they were, I had never heard about them either, and everyone was sold at the first song. At that time, it was not too difficult to imagine their future success, their set was rather short but they played explosive high-energy numbers with horns and charisma to sell and they blew away the public, me included… and I saw 5 bands that same night!

This is what I wrote almost a year ago:

I often complain that bands sound too much alike, but this was certainly not the case during this Monday residency at the Echo. I got to see five bands, as the show stretched into the late hours, and the bands did offer a very eclectic range. There was a little bit of something for everyone I guess, but you certainly had to come early for Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats. They were a great surprise with a formidable energy and a lot of soul. I am not using the term soul lightly, despite the cowboy hat on the head of one of the guitarists, they undoubtedly had an old-school rhythm & blues sound, and one of their songs even came with a real Sam & Dave vibe. The sax, the horns and the wobbling Hammond were part of their audacious and lively R&B, with an explosive sound and a powerhouse that may have channeled some Springsteen or Joe Cocker gig. It was some happy and empowering music, cheered by the crowd, and this was just a regular Monday night at the Echo. Rateliff had an intense charisma, step-walking-dancing, clapping, yelling with his big fat voice, performing like a born-frontman at the head of a 5-piece band. Their last song, which may have been entitled ‘S.O.B.’, had this chain-gang-New-Orleans-Mardi-Gras big sound with Acapella and clapping parts, totally great and received by the crowd with big applause. They are from Denver, Colorado, but there was something very southern, almost gospelic in their music and they have an upcoming album out August 21st.

More pictures here.

By the way, the song is really called S.O.B. and you can watch the very Cash-at-Folsom-inspired video below.

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

How to Get Your Music Noticed

By Emma Hil | February 5, 2023 |

It’s not like it used to be since the internet has provided musicians with more options to have their song heard by a large number of people who have a tendency to like the song and turn into fans of the artist. In the following discussion, we will go through the many methods that you…

Press Releases For February: Here Are The Artists

By Alyson Camus | February 5, 2023 |

A fast rock & roll song performed with a retro punk vibe

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – April 1983 (Volume 14, Number 11)

By Steve Crawford | February 5, 2023 |

the final issue edited by Susan Whitall

Best Albums Of 2023 Alphabetically By Artist Ending January 31st

By Iman Lababedi | February 5, 2023 |

hard rock meets classic rock meets Americana

L.A. Burning: West Coast Concert Picks February 6th To 12th

By Alyson Camus | February 4, 2023 |

Chuck D is at the Grammy Museum

On The Red Carpet For The Screening Of “The Beast Inside” At The Angelica Cinema, Sunday, January 29th, 2023: pictures by Billy Hess

By admin | February 4, 2023 |

a powerhouse performance by Sadie Katz and SohoJohnny as you never thought you’d see him

UK Top 10 Albums 2-3-23 – 2-9-23

By Iman Lababedi | February 4, 2023 |

that SNL gig was excellent

UK Top 10 Singles 2-3-23 – 2-9-23

By Iman Lababedi | February 4, 2023 |

Miley rises to top of the celebrity food chain

The Early Bird: New Recorded Releases 2-3-22 – 2-9-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | February 3, 2023 |

captivating, hooklined, country pop songs

The Springsteen 2023 Tour Began Wednesday, February 1st In Tampa: Here Is The Setlist, Some Video, And Some Grumbling

By Iman Lababedi | February 3, 2023 |

a hefty helping?

Scroll To Top