Skip to content

Marshall Crenshaw legally claims the US rights to the Warner Brothers recordings and has done a licensing deal with Yep Roc for the first two

Late last year there came news that Marshall Crenshaw was performing at Iridium and then it was re-scheduled to early February because the room wasn’t ready. And then in February 2022 it was cancelled due to Omicron. Someday someway between those dates I went back to Crenshaw on Spotify and was shocked to discover that Spotify didn’t have his albums from the debut to Good Evening on any streaming services… so back in January I reached out to Marshall and he DM’d back: “It’s good news about my WB records- I was able to legally claim the US rights to the recordings during 2019 and have done a licensing deal with Yep Roc for the first two; a really beautiful 40th anniversary issue of the first one is coming out in November, and there’ll be one for Field Day during 2023….”

Fast forward, and Crenshaw is bringing his eagerly awaited ’40 YEARS IN SHOWBIZ TOUR’ to City Winery on Monday September 26th, 2022, and I am taking fellow Marshall fanatic, my niece Loubaba Lababedi, and we are both very excited. So, I reached out to Marshall to inquire whether I was free to write about the Yep Roc re-releases. His reply: “It’s all fair game at this point; Yep Roc is posting about the Black Friday release of the 40th Anniversary reissue of my 1st album- I saw pictures of it somewhere on Facebook the other day. And “Field Day” is due out sometime next year- I don’t have a release date for that one yet, but the mastering and all the graphic design have all been turned in. Both of these are really beautiful packages. Anyway, yes it’s OK to go public with this. Thanks for reaching out, MC”. The official name of the reissue is Marshall Crenshaw 40th Anniversary Edition

So we have to wait till November 25th.

Meanwhile, if the wonderful Miracle Of Science re-release is anything to go by, this should be major. And if I had any album to hope he re-releases not previously on Warner Bros, let’s hear it for Life’s Too Short (with first runner-up Jaggedland -an underrated and under heard masterpiece). But really, it’s just a question of degrees with the great MC consistently brilliant songwriting for FORTY YEARS!!!

As we go through the 22 pop-punk revival, it is clear that melodically it is mostly undernourished power pop and if America had a memory to speak of they’d be stealing off Crenshaw 24-7.

Anyhow, some more info on Marshall Crenshaw

Event: BLACK FRIDAY 2022
Release Date: 11/25/2022
Format: 2 x LP
Label: Yep Roc Records
Quantity: 1200
Release type: RSD Exclusive Release
This 40th Anniversary edition of Marshall Crenshaw’s debut album features the original album with a bonus EP of seven tracks from the era. The bonus tracks include four 4-track demos and alternate mixes from the album. This double LP version will only be available at record stores for RSD Black Friday!

LP 1 Side A:

  1. There She Goes Again
  2. Someday, Someway
  3. Girls…
  4. I’ll Do Anything
  5. Rockin’ Around in N.Y.C.
  6. The Usual Thing

LP 1, Side B:

  1. She Can’t Dance (Crenshaw, Rick Cioffi, Fred Todd)
  2. Cynical Girl
  3. Mary Anne
  4. Soldier of Love (Lay Down Your Arms)
  5. Not for Me
  6. Brand New Lover

LP 2, Side A:

  1. Look What I Almost Missed (Live)
  2. Brand New Lover (Alternate take, rough mix)
  3. Something’s Gonna Happen

LP 2, Side B (Original 4-track recordings 1980-81):

  1. (You’re My) Favorite Waste of Time
  2. Just Not For Me
  3. Someday Someway
  4. Maryanne

I believe this is the album we will get on streaming services…


  1. Scott Conners on September 19, 2022 at 9:35 am

    Xcited for this! Hope to see you at the City Winery gig

    • Bruce Kaplan on September 19, 2022 at 10:12 pm

      I met my wife of 32 years when her band covered Favorite Waste of Time and I just had to introduce myself to any girls cool enough to cover that song!

  2. Brian on September 19, 2022 at 11:48 am

    All good news. I’ve also been a Marshall Crenshaw fan for decades. His songs have stood the test of time.

  3. Mark James Meli on September 20, 2022 at 10:33 am

    This is great. Let’s not forget that MARY JEAN & 9 OTHERS is one of the greatest All-Guitar albums of ALL TIME. I can’t wait for that one.

Leave a Comment


Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at

Scroll To Top