Skip to content

Into The Groove: Best New Album Tracks In Order Of Preference Reviewed 1-26-18- 2-1-18

1 – Quartz in the Valley – H.C. McEntire – frontwoman of Mount Moriah, gives lesbians a good name on this terrific “Islands In The Sun” rip off, co-written with Kathleen Hanna, and with some of the sweetest and saltiest lines in the business: “dance in the bramble with the morning light, holler across the hall till you hear it right”.

2 – Rise of the Ghostface Killah – Ghostface Killah, Apollo Brown – I hope this ain’t a trend, where my two favorite albums of the week includes my two favorite songs of the week. This is the “murda, murda, kill kill kill” one.

3 – End of the World With You – Calexico – Sweetly melodic classic rockism, with a settled groove and a electric sound at mid-tempo and a nice little instrumental break.

4 – Looking Forward to the Past – Tommy Emmanuel, Rodney Crowell – It was Rodney who a coupla years ago claimed he never knew what to call his music till they came up with “Americana”. Here’s a suggestion, country. This terrific modern old country track is the past master Tommy’s song and it does everything right, including giving the shout out of a lifetime to Conway Twitty.

5 – Notice Me – Migos, Post Malone – A gorgeous brood of a song off an album I still haven’t gotten a handle on.

6 – The Golden Age of Not Even Trying – Dead! – I am not sure if this is that good but I know for sure it deserves to be here if only for the title

7 – Swimming With The Tide – Club 8 – An outlier on the album, a touch above the rest, this is a melodic ambient dirge pattern with strange beauty, haunting harmonies and something Electronic North called “electro-shamanic reverie”.

8 – America – Bekon – A reworking of  “XXX” -a song he produced for U2 and Kendrick,.

9 – Volatile – Machine Head – The album is pretty good metalcore plus, but this is simplest and best

10 – Powder Cocaine (feat. Slug & Catero) – Evidence – This is better than the rest of the album because its chorus is excellent, Evidence performs his best rap, and the backing vocals are ineluctable and never waver.

11 – Applause – Tiny Moving Parts – Jerks you around like a rag doll

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

Pet Shop Boys, New Order, Paul Oakenfold “Unity Tour” at Madison Square Garden, Wednesday, September 28th, 2022 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 29, 2022 |

It felt old

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – September 1978 (Volume 10, Number 4)

By Steve Crawford | September 29, 2022 |

I shall seek other worlds

Brief Encounters: New Albums 9-23-22 – 9-29-22

By Iman Lababedi | September 29, 2022 |

son of Mali guitar legend meets instrumental psyche band

This Saturday

By admin | September 28, 2022 |

This Saturday

Eileen Shapiro: “Portfolio Of A Rockstar Journalist” With R&B Great Toni Braxton

By Eileen Shapiro | September 28, 2022 |

a warning for other women

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – August 1978 (Volume 10, Number 3) 

By Steve Crawford | September 28, 2022 |

a candid fellow

Grace Jones With Chvrches At The Hollywood Bowl, Sunday September 25th 2022

By Alyson Camus | September 28, 2022 |

Her colossal stage presence is timeless

Marshall Crenshaw’s “40 Years in Showbiz! (1982-2022)” At City Winery, Monday, September 26th, 2022, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 27, 2022 |

the musical equivalent of how Crenshaw at 67 years of age continues to live life as an artist

The Streaming Charity Performance Of The Year, A Six Hour, Worldwide Extravaganza To Help Children For $5

By admin | September 27, 2022 |

music and care for a world in pain

US Top Ten Singles Tracking 9-16-22 – 9-22-22

By Iman Lababedi | September 27, 2022 |

at the top of the singles charts and at the top of the movie box office

Scroll To Top