Skip to content

Going Steady: New Song Reviews 7-1-16 – 7-7-16

Angel-Olsen-Shut-up-Kiss-Me

Shut Up And Kiss Me – Angel Olsen – I hated her last single, but this is the one. A sugar coated suicide pill with a scrappy punky guitar singer songwriter vibe and a pure pleasure pace changing syrup on steak vibe, A real goodie – B+

Medicine – Biffy Clyro – This intensely average band has one secret, Simon Neil’s lilting Scottish accent which seems to make the ordinary sound, well, better than it is. This acoustic strummer ballad with a symphonic break sounds like it has something to add to the conversation even though you know it hasn’t – C

If I Told You – Darius Rucker – Darius can sing country and when he buys the right song he can sell it and how, this reverberates too loudly, it is too received, to do much. There is no song there on a track that exists solely for the song itself – C-

Body Say – Demi Lovato – Song by commitee, bad song by committee. I saw some of that live on Tidal gig last week, it was like this come to, and I don’t use the word wisely, life – C-

M.I.L.F.’s – Fergie – The best beat money can buy, this is a manufactured trifle but if you can get past that, the beats are self-propelling and Fergie rides em for all their worth, it is House as party and better than I thought it would be – B+

Drinking About You – Haley And Michaels – A terrific little idea, but the song is too loud and bluesy, they should have added swing to the country track, instead they oversold it – C

Sledgehammer – Rihanna – From “Star Trek Beyond” soundtrack, it is a heavy ballad shamed into irrelevance by Adele’s 007 song from a coupla years ago, it is all dramatic overkill. Having said that, Rihanna sounds more powerful than usual, though the touch of autotune wasn’t necessary – C+

Fake My Own Death – Sum 41 – Life after alcoholism, this is a straightforward punk rocker with a smashing guitar lick crucified by a terrible break – C

 

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

SohoJohnny’s Brushes With Greatness: France Joli

By Iman Lababedi | October 27, 2021 |

essential crossover pop just after disco’s height

Going Steady: New Single 10-22-21 – 10-28-21 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | October 27, 2021 |

a nihilist’s anthem

Rob Jankowski’s Highly Anticipated New Film “Attached: Paranormal” Now Available Worldwide

By Meredith Grant | October 26, 2021 |

Do You Believe In the Paranormal?

US Top 10 Singles Dated October 30th, 2021

By Iman Lababedi | October 26, 2021 |

too on the nose

Sneak Peaks: Upcoming Album Releases 10-29-21 – 11-4-21

By Iman Lababedi | October 26, 2021 |

into rock god land

Adele Performed In Front Of A Crowd Of Celebrities At Griffith Observatory On Sunday

By Alyson Camus | October 26, 2021 |

The venue is deeply symbolic

Rock Star Review – ARO Rose “Tarrant”

By Meredith Grant | October 25, 2021 |

Rock Star Review – ARO Rose “Tarrant”

The Monkees Micky Dolenz & Mike Nesmith’s Farewell Tour At The Town Hall, Sunday, October 24th, 2021, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | October 25, 2021 |

Micky carried Mike for two hours, paid tribute to the Country Americana pop song writers skills, and made certain Nez looked swell

US Top 10 Albums Dated October 30th, 2021

By Iman Lababedi | October 25, 2021 |

a lame 94K EAUs

Matt Whipkey’s New Album, “Hard,” Reviewed

By Alyson Camus | October 25, 2021 |

“Hard” begs for a live show

Scroll To Top