Skip to content

Going Steady: New Singles Reviewed 5-12-17 – 5-18-17

Renegade – Axwell ^Ingrosso – The former Swedish House Mafia exemplifies much that is good and also bad about current music: a multiverse tracked pop blast with everything electronically filtered, it sounds great as EDM pop goes but it has a lame tune – B-

Everybody Lost Somebody – Bleacher – I actively disliked the first single off the upcoming album, this one is a kitchen sink put another dollop of whipped cream on the ice-cream. Here it is the horns which aren’t needed but sound terrific – B

Wildfire – blink-182 – By the numbers rocker but a good by the numbers rocker – B

The Long way – Brett Eldredge – Brett picks up a girl in the village and takes a walking tour of LES – B

Somethin Tells Me – Bryson Tiller – Nice snare drum keeps calling him every ten syllables and the song is upset enough for his song speak to hide in plain sight – B-

Rollin – Calvin Harris, Future, Khalid – Nice sound, the piccolo (?) is a pleasant interference. Next time may I suggest Ringo Starr, Lorde, and Quavo. I mean, why not, right? – C+

Losing Sleep – Chris Young – Nah, this won’t do – C-

Aye – Fetty Wap – The Crown Prince of the obvious hook is at it again – B-

Fool’s Errand – Fleet Foxes – It’s like tripping out, getting lost in Macy’s and thinking you’re in Jellystone Park with Yogi – C+

Right Now – Haim – They look like half the girls I dated in my 20s and sound worse, this is somewhere between a pop move and a headache – C-

Whatever It Takes – Imagine Dragons – Just go away you miserable rotten sounding bastards – D+

Heart Break – Lady Antebellum – About as flimsy as country gets… remember when these guys were quite good? – C

Sleeping Around The Corner – Lindsey Buckingham, Christine McVie – The problem with flimsy classic rock like this by major talents is that you begin to doubt their entire career. McVie really kills the bridge but ten seconds do not make a song – C

Invisible – Linkin Park – I can’t, this is the fucking pits. Really, are you kidding me? A bad hook in search of a song – D+

Coulda Been – Lupe Fiasco – His poppier instincts are letting him down on this daydream of a life without rapping – C+

Trick – Matthew Sweet – The  past twenty years have found Sweet incapable of returning to his glory though this pop rock plus tinged up guitar solo proves he remembers but can’t perfect it  – B

Malibu – Miley Cyrus – Still singing through her nose, she has come a long way since “Party In The USA,” in fact  she has come a long way since “Wrecking Ball” come to think of it. This is a winning soft and sweet acoustic track that inches away from being a triumph. It is a deep album track that will shake you out of a mid-album lull – SINGLE OF THE WEEK – B

Our Destiny/Roadhouse Garden – Prince – I hated this track when I heard the Revolution cover it a coupla weeks ago but it wasn’t all their fault, and it is nearly as bad on record, a proggy twee piece of crap at first, it improves once Prince takes over the lead vocal though not enough to save it – C

I Know You Want – Rascal Flatts – A dead on its feet ballad – D+

The System Only Dreams In Total Darkness – The National – Below average mood piece and the stupid name doesn’t help, let’s hope the album is better  – C+

Alright Caroline – Third Eye Blind – Horrible, beyond horrible MOR pop rocker…  but at least they’re not 3 Doors Down – C

I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For Live Choir Version  – U2 –  I am guessing this is the Rattle And Hum DVD version – B

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo-e1623352788338-reupload
ScreenShot2020-10-05at12.00.04PM-reupload

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

The Daisy Jopling Band To Perform “Who’s Who” At The Transfiguration Church In Tarrytown, NY Sunday May 12th, 2024 7 PM ET

By admin | May 9, 2024 |

The Transfiguration Church in Tarrytown, New York Presents “Who’s Who”, original violin arrangements of iconic songs by The Who performed by the Daisy Jopling Band featuring the Sleepy Hollow High School Chamber Orchestra on Sunday, May 12th, 2024. Location: Transfiguration Church 268 South Broadway Tarrytown, NY 10591 United States Tickets are $25 and can be…

Cyborg Drummer/DJ DRMAGDN Headlining Montauk Music Fest

By admin | April 9, 2024 |

Major Label BMG Records Artist & Producer DRMAGDN Cyborg Drummer / DJ will be making his Montauk Music Fest debut this year in May. DRMAGDN will be the Official Host & MC of The Montauk Music Fest plus play headlining sets on Friday 5/17 and Saturday 5/18 from 10pm-12am at Gurney’s Montauk Resort (290 Old…

RED CARPET EVENT @ Chelsea Table & Stage 4/12/24 Featuring THE AMERICAN RELICS & DRMAGDN

By admin | March 25, 2024 |

On Friday April 12th, 2024 beginning at 6:30 pm ET  there will be a Red Carpet event pre-show sponsored by Tribeca Records at the trendy nightspot Chelsea Table and Stage located in the heart of Chelsea at 152 west 26th street (inside the Hilton Fashion Hotel) in NYC. The Red Carpet will be followed by…

Live Review: Composer Randy Edelman Live at Chelsea T&S “2nd Annual St. Patrick’s Day Massacre” 03/16/24 and Record Release in NYC

By admin | March 17, 2024 |

There was an infinite vitality of velvet green flowing deliciously through the air as Composer Randy Edelman presented his 2nd Annual St. Patrick’s Day Massacre at the trendy new nightspot Chelsea Table & Stage in the heart of NYC on March 16, 2024….. a vivacious close to the spirited Irish Parade. His music is the…

DRMAGDN: Cyborg Drummer/DJ Debuts @ Chelsea T&S With Retro 80’s Party & Red Carpet Event 4/12/24

By admin | February 29, 2024 |

BMG recording artist, producer and World renowned, Global Touring Electrifying Powerhouse, DRMAGDN: Cyborg Drummer and DJ will make his debut at the popular, trendy night spot Chelsea Table & Stage (located at 152 west 26th street inside the Hilton Hotel) on  Friday April 12, 2024 @ 9:00PM. DRMAGDN will be celebrating his high energy brand of Electronic Dance Music (EDM)…

Going Steady: New Singles 2-23-24- 2-29-24 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | February 26, 2024 |

dance pop, gooey confection

US Top Ten Albums Tracking 2-16-24 – 2-22-24

By Iman Lababedi | February 26, 2024 |

75K EAUs is abysmal

Our Friend Tony Orlando’s Farewell Tour

By admin | February 25, 2024 |

“I still hit the ball, I just can’t run the bases!!!”

Sneak Peaks: New Album releases 3-1-24 – 3-7-24

By Iman Lababedi | February 25, 2024 |

contenders for the best punk rock around

Child Bite, Lamb Of God, Pantera At Madison Square Garden, Thursday, February 22nd, 2024, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | February 25, 2024 |

A three hours of hard rock, metal not metal, swift, loud, egoless pure metal

Scroll To Top