Skip to content

Going Steady: New Singles Reviewed 3-25-16 – 3-31-16

fcd5c745

Single Of The Week: 3-25-16 – 3-31-16

 

Let It Bang – A$AP Ferg, Schoolboy Q – This is the second great song off the upcoming and very eagerly anticipated potential rap album of the year from Ferg. It does exactly what it says it will and Schoolboy Q is back and excellent on his verses. A great song – B+

The Life – Fifth Harmony – Well, there is five of em, but harmonies? Autotuned to death – C-

Handclap – Fitz And The Tantrums – I know I complained about the production on their earliest work, but this is EDM 101, and I never complained about the songs. This is a real drag – C

Noise – Kenny Chesney – A good song ruined by an obvious lyric, cultural commentary isn’t where his strength lies, catchy choruses are where he’s at when he is on – B

Watch Me Do – Meghan Trainor – The “Twist And Shout” reference is really very clever but the video is creepy. Meghan Trainor is a naturally born middleweight, who had her biggest hit weighing in around 160 pounds, so why on earth is she starving herself to death? Meghan, fire your handlers right now, we have enough generic anorexic pop star models, it doesn’t suit you and it isn’t helping your career… You have a natural flair for humor and high spirits, you could be EDM’s Sophie Tucker, why would you want to be Katy Perry? – C+

Close – Nick Jonas, Tove Lo – Very blah pop track, though I can hear why people like Tove Lo – C

In Bloom – Sturgill Simpson – This is a terrific version, it does for Kurt what Kurt did for Bowie. A gorgeous rethinking, that might actually git the original – A

Real Maths/Too Much – The Gotobeds – Their debut song from Sub Pop is very strong, but it feels like it is too big a jump from “Ny’s Alright”… there is a missing link somewhere. As though the Strokes had gone from “New York Cops Are Dumb” to “You Only Live Once”. The song is crafty in ways we aren’t used to, it switches tempo and changes direction, slowing, speeding up, and nailing it with the shout and response coda. I can’t wait for the album – B+

Cleopatra – The Lumineers – As an official the Lumineers hatred, I still have to admit this taster from their finally follow up to the breakthrough is clearly what you think it: a sweet folk story song – B

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

SohoJohnny’s Brushes With Greatness: France Joli

By Iman Lababedi | October 27, 2021 |

essential crossover pop just after disco’s height

Going Steady: New Single 10-22-21 – 10-28-21 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | October 27, 2021 |

a nihilist’s anthem

Rob Jankowski’s Highly Anticipated New Film “Attached: Paranormal” Now Available Worldwide

By Meredith Grant | October 26, 2021 |

Do You Believe In the Paranormal?

US Top 10 Singles Dated October 30th, 2021

By Iman Lababedi | October 26, 2021 |

too on the nose

Sneak Peaks: Upcoming Album Releases 10-29-21 – 11-4-21

By Iman Lababedi | October 26, 2021 |

into rock god land

Adele Performed In Front Of A Crowd Of Celebrities At Griffith Observatory On Sunday

By Alyson Camus | October 26, 2021 |

The venue is deeply symbolic

Rock Star Review – ARO Rose “Tarrant”

By Meredith Grant | October 25, 2021 |

Rock Star Review – ARO Rose “Tarrant”

The Monkees Micky Dolenz & Mike Nesmith’s Farewell Tour At The Town Hall, Sunday, October 24th, 2021, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | October 25, 2021 |

Micky carried Mike for two hours, paid tribute to the Country Americana pop song writers skills, and made certain Nez looked swell

US Top 10 Albums Dated October 30th, 2021

By Iman Lababedi | October 25, 2021 |

a lame 94K EAUs

Matt Whipkey’s New Album, “Hard,” Reviewed

By Alyson Camus | October 25, 2021 |

“Hard” begs for a live show

Scroll To Top