Skip to content

Going Steady: New Singles Reviewed 12-9-16 – 12-15-16

 

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-7-24-24-pm

Governed By Contagion – AT The Drive In – They’re back and just in town, this quirk post-punk hard rocker is pretty terrific, I feel like I’ve missed em without realizing it. Lives up to your expectation – B+

Everybody Know – Beenie Man – With Buju in jail, the standard bearer for Dancehall, Beenie Man, works perfectly in single mode: the hook is excellent, and the man has a terrific voice, that’s all – B+

Afterthought – Conor Oberst – Sure, I admire the hammer and sickle design rhyming with all the pills the doctor prescribed -but come on, enough already with the misery. The thing is, Conor is a happily married man in his 30s -this song lacks credibility… I still love the

Like A Star – Fetty Wap, Nicki Minaj – Every time I hear rappers like Future and Fetty, I hear Rasta in the rasp. Here as well, an excellent hip hop dancer with a fair to middling Nicki verse -B+

Vengeance On My Mind – G Eazy – The pin up for white rappers moving white girls (including Britney) to distraction works for and he usually doesn’t, the sample is excellent – B

Breathe – India.Arie – Folkie hippieness acoustic style – B

Team – Krewella – I can’t take her over an album, but on a moody electronic single, it will do the job – C+

Made In The USA – Lupe Fiasco, Bianca Sings – Lupe skipped agitprop just as it got big, and he is back in time. A goodie – B

Are You Lost In The World – Moby, The Void Pacific Choir – If only this was good it would be quite good, instead it is a thumping indie rocker with beats and it bores – C

My Number – Major Lazer, Bad Royal – James Brown goes Rasta – B-

Stranger – Paul Simon, Nico Segal – A pleasant reworking of “The Werewolf” as jazz electronica – B

Freedom Highway – Rhiannon Giddens – Rhiannon kills it on the title track of her upcoming sophomore album, a Pops Staples cover from 1965 featuring  Bhi Bhiman, an “all-American singer-songwriter from St. Louis, whose parents are from Sri Lanka”. Point taken – A-

Do You Still Love Me? – Ryan Adams – A powerful blues soul original – B

U Name It Holiday Anthem – Snoop Dogg, Shirley Caesar – Shirley Caesar? Really? The Snoop as cultural icon is complete on this Christmas munchies song – B-

Letter To The Editor – Thievery Corporation – Recorded in Jamaica, as is the album, Raquel Jones is a real find on this electronic rub a dub – B

Double Features – The Orwells – The great rockers who blew Letterman away a coupla years ago, sounds real good on this rocker, he could be faster but it ain’t bad. A little Kirt in the DNA – B

 

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – October 1972 (Volume 4, Number 5)  

By Steve Crawford | May 19, 2022 |

We leap ahead almost a year

April Rose Gabrielli At Cafe Wha, Wednesday, May 18th, 2022, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | May 19, 2022 |

A flatout triumph from a major performer

Brief Encounters: New Albums 5-13-22 – 5-19-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | May 18, 2022 |

New Wave pop bliss out

Haim At Madison Square Garden, Tuesday, May 17th, 2022, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | May 18, 2022 |

I WISH I HADN’T GONE

Cruel World Festival, Sunday March 15th 2022

By Alyson Camus | May 18, 2022 |

a time-capsule type of roster

Creem -America’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – November 1971 (Volume 3, Number 6)

By Steve Crawford | May 17, 2022 |

“Sure, we don’t pay much but then who else do ya know who’ll publish you?”

Gov Ball 2022 Set Times And Recommendations

By Iman Lababedi | May 17, 2022 |

in the immortal words of Jason Isbell to me at Gov Ball a coupla years ago: “let’s do this…”

US Top 10 Singles Tracking 5-6-22 – 5-12-22

By Iman Lababedi | May 17, 2022 |

one of the great top tens of the 2020

US Top 10 Albums Tracking 5-6-22 – 5-12-22

By Iman Lababedi | May 16, 2022 |

old school Puerto Rican underground sounds

Going Steady: New Singles 5-13-22 – 5-19-22

By Iman Lababedi | May 16, 2022 |

a masterful pop about loving a drug addict

Scroll To Top