Skip to content

Going Steady: New Singles Reviewed 12-2-16 – 12-8-16

nicki-minaj-black-barbies-on-itunes

 

A Lost Machine – Grandaddy – Old school dreamscape boys hit a homerun with this brooding and overwhelming orchestrated piano ballad which is so moody it seems sunk in depression: this will still break em one way or the other – B-

Levitate – Imagine Dragons – Heavy in the worst bands ever stakes, these EDM meets rock boys can’t get their footing post “Radioactive” and this horrid overblown rock ballad won’t cut it that’s for sure – C-

Final Hours – Hodgy, Busta Rhymes – I saw Hodgy as part of Mellowhype a coupla years ago and talk about contact high, but even so the groove was solid and the sound like a part paranoid part trippy wakemare. The backing track on this is so good it is crazy good and the mix of voices, Busta guttural and Hodgy handsome flow, is excellent – B+

Can’t Take My Eyes Off You x  MAKE UP FOREVER – Jessie J – Nice one, I’ve always loved Jessie J’s voice even if her material was bumming me, and really, who can complain about the Frankie Valli classic. Not Lauryn Hill, who took a very good go at it back in the day, and Jessie J who makes it a dance track without destroying the song – B

Baptised In Fire – Kid Cudi, Travis Scott – Kid Cudi is Kanye West if Kanye West was as bad as everyone claims he is – C+

Black Barbies – Nicki Minaj, Mike Will-Made It – If this is Nicki’s first statement post Pinkprint  period, I mean her real not guesting, or adding a verse, or slumming, then the album it must be from will bring her straight back all the way to the top; the woman may be an ass but she is one of our great rappers and this is clever and catchy and deserves to be a hit- A

Long Live Love – LeAnn Rimes – Country blues, well sung but a drag – C+

Able – Pharrell Williams – Both Pharrell and John Legend have spent the year coming through big time. I never disliked Pharrell the way I did Legend, but I was never convinced, this glorious funky dance track is aces and should go a long way into convincing – B+

Angel By The Wings – Sia – Sure she has a great voice, but her ballads can get awful lame, “take an angel by the wings”? Really? And then it goes loud and you wish it would go quiet again – C-

Working Girl – Train – Train are Soul Asylum without the ringers – C-

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – August 1975 (Volume 7, Number 3)  

By Steve Crawford | July 7, 2022 |

If I did fifty shows I’d get the money from one

Best Of 2022: Singles In Order Of Preference Through June 30th

By Iman Lababedi | July 7, 2022 |

a growling, prowling slap pump and just another all American

Brief Encounters: New Albums 7-1-22 – 7-7-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | July 7, 2022 |

a 28 song full, full blown reggae rasta brilliance

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – July 1975 (Volume 7, Number 2)

By Steve Crawford | July 7, 2022 |

the boundary breaking shock rocker of the decade

US Top 10 Singles Tracking 6-24-22 – 6-30-22

By Iman Lababedi | July 6, 2022 |

Harry seems to have it sewn up

Best Of 2022: Albums by Artist In Alphabetical Order Through June 30th (Half Way Mark)

By Iman Lababedi | July 6, 2022 |

a superb songwriter who can fill an album with excellent country mainstreamers

Going Steady: New Singles 7-1-22 – 7-7-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | July 6, 2022 |

lovely tribute to her single mom

Eileen Shapiro: “Portfolio Of A Rockstar Journalist” Meets The Genesis Great Steve Hackett

By Eileen Shapiro | July 6, 2022 |

a classical guitarist and composer and has released more than 30 solo albums

Press Releases For July: Here Are The Artists

By Alyson Camus | July 6, 2022 |

“The song is about a mental institution”

Freakout Records Announce The 10th Annual Freakout Festival Taking Place on November 10-13 in Ballard (Seattle, WA)

By admin | July 5, 2022 |

a diverse arrangement of voices and sounds

Scroll To Top