Skip to content

Going Steady: New Singles Reviewed 11-25-16 – 12-1-16

mgid-uma-artist-mtv

Still – G-Eazy – A piece of shallow self awareness, as G Easy considers his place in history and discovers exactly what he is: “just another rapper who came and went but at least I had a run”. That’s not so bad, hell, he performed a song with Britney, sold out Barclays and never hurt helpless animals so it should suffice – B

Gift Wrap – Kid Ink, Verse Simmonds – Nice to see PR rapper Verse back, and this slice of autotuned pop is, well, pop. It is a real sign of the time, low key, brooding modern pop which sounds like a flop to me because I can’t get used to mood being pop – B-

I Know Better – John Legend – A dog track off the newbie, it is odd to use Gospel blue notes on a piece of onanism – C

Soothing – Laura Marling – The decline and fall of Laura Marling has been a horrorshow for her fans. It reached a nadir with the only bad concert I’ve seen her perform, that crappy disappointment at the Town Hall a coupla years ago. It is now thre years since Once I Was An Eagle and it is time to admit, she has peaked and then some – C+

Can’t Have – Pitbull – Business as usual, this won’t cut it. It reminds me a little of “24K Magic” more of the same only less so – C+

Swear – You Me AT Six – No, just no. The drummer is pretty good I guess – C-

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

Sneak Peaks: Upcoming Album Releases 10-22-21 – 10-28-21

By Iman Lababedi | October 17, 2021 |

distinct and wondrous without being obvious or obnoxious

UK Top 10 Albums: 10-15-21 – 10-21-21

By Iman Lababedi | October 17, 2021 |

except for the title track the songs are on vacation

The Early Bird: Top New Recorded Releases 10-15-21 – 10-21-21 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | October 16, 2021 |

simultaneously self-effacing and egomaniacs

UK Top 10 Singles 10-15-21 – 10-21-21

By Iman Lababedi | October 16, 2021 |

essentially a disco remix of “Rocket Man” featuring one of the the UK’s biggest stars…

Chris Martin Wants To Reduce The Carbon Footprint Of Coldplay’s Tour… Does He?

By Alyson Camus | October 16, 2021 |

“I literally really need you to jump up and down”

Tommy Stinson At The Bowery Electric, Thursday, October 14th, 2021, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | October 15, 2021 |

Friday night might kill us but Thursday evening is a blast

The Earliest Bird: Top New Recorded Release 10-15-21-10-21-22, Adele’s “Easy On Me” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | October 15, 2021 |

it just isn’t the triumph she needed after six years

Gypsum At Zebulon Cafe, Wednesday October 13th 2021

By Alyson Camus | October 15, 2021 |

an impressive sonic ride.

Rockstar Review: Randy Edelman “Comin’ Out the Other Side”

By Meredith Grant | October 14, 2021 |

a high-spirited Post Pandemic anthem

The Triple A List, My Favorite Songs Ever One By One: Abba’s “The Winner Takes It All”

By Iman Lababedi | October 14, 2021 |

a world of misery

Scroll To Top