Skip to content

Going Steady: New Singles Reviewed 10-26-18 – 11-1-18

Killer Queen – 5 Seconds Of Summer – The Aussie boy band is coming off their biggest hit ever, “Youngblood,” where they gave up on rock to master mainstream pop r&b, and the follow up is a first rate cover of the Queen classic – B+

Bozoo -6ix9ine, Arnoo – Not as playful as “FeFe” it is all too typical baby trap – C+

Get Dark -AFI – post-hardcore by now, this is a typical question mark on an iffy genre, the guitar solo is prog rock – C

Lady Liberty – Barbra Streisand – At what point did this overwrought and tedious insult to sincerity become Barbra’s norm? I would say sometime  post her 2000 return to touring it began to go south… this beacon of hope is really not good- D

Alien – Beach House – I like everything this dream pop band does as much as the last song they did and the next song they will,  because it all sounds exactly the same – C

Gallipoli – Beirut – The pop proggers with a taste for horns are back after five years on this pleasant outing which starts off so beautiful but heads south with the vocals – B

Sunshine Rock – Sugar like rock with the strong and sturdy melodies that Mould seems to be able to conjure with a snap of his fingers – B+

Ticket To L.A. – Brett Young – Young was very good opening for Luke Bryan a coupla years ago but it didn’t translate into his recordings and this one does. A country rock story song about picking up a girl in the airport – SINGLE OF THE WEEK – B+

wonderful life – Bring Me The Horizon, Dani Filth – featuring the Cradle Of Filth lead singer Dani, on a song written for Limp Bizkit , this is about as emo as these guys will ever get – C+

Waste It On me – BTS, Steve Aoki – Steve tones it down on BTS’ first English language track, a pleasant r&b romp – B-

Money – Cardi B – Look, you can be in it for the money without rubbing the worlds nose in your greed and you can ride on your reputation (if this was Cardi B’s first single she would be toast), without being indolent – C+

Nothing Compares 2 U – Chris Cornell – I was never much of a fan but the late great  sings the fuck outta this song – B+

Lil Bebe – Danileigh – The DR singer is signed to Def Jam, who are sprucing her up as a hip hop woman, unfortunately this ain’t the song to crack her – B-

Close To Me -Ellie Goulding, Diplo, Swae Lee – Pop EDM by past masters of the form, Swae Lee wasn’t necessary – B

British Mind – Hind – Apparently we don’t take the sun for granted – C+

Happy – Kygo, Sandro Cavazza – Boring but popular Norwegian producer aims for the charts one more time – C+

If I Say – Mumford And Sons – So this is what Rolling Stone calls experimental? What? 808 infused beats? – C

Ned Flanders – MadeInTYO, A$AP Ferg – The metaphor barely works and the lyric should be clever but not bad – B-

No Future In Our Frontman – Natalie Prass – Prass is so mainstream weird, the backing track here is bizarre, yet it moves into a strange Motown-y song and it is part of (according to Consequence Of Sound) “A trio of EPs, each featuring a slew of different artists covering a new, fiercely political song he wrote, “No Future In Our Frontman”. The hope is to encourage voter turnout, with proceeds from the project going to charities benefitting voter participation and registration.A spacey, straightforward slice of art-pop, the track serves as a rebuke to our messy president, with White singing that “there is no harmony in his Babylon, and I refuse to sing along.” Artists that will share covers of the track include Natalie Prass, Kevin Devine, PC Worship, Bedouine, and more.”

– B

Campaigner – Neil Young – Off another unreleased album, here he claims Nixon has a soul – B

Slow Down – Normani, Calvin Harris –The Fifth Harmony who isn’t Camilla, has Calvin hold her hand through this mediocre EDM ballad – C+

A Million Dreams – P!nk – Yup, the Greatest Show On Earth is so big they are threatening a covers album and here is the proof a good cover of a lousy song – C+

Listening For The Silence – P.O.D. – I usually like these guys, they are my exception that proves the rule for Christcore, but not this one – C

Quierto Saber – Pitbull, Prince, Ludacris – Ludacris? – C+

Are You Entertained – Pretty Vicious – UK rockers make an unholy racket – B-

Mo Paper – Rich The Kid, YG – Atlanta Trap, I guess YG is there to make sure Rich doesn’t get beaten up again – B-

Walk Alone – Rudimental, Tom Walker – Walker can’t sing when he can oversing, and this don’t hold up at all – C

New Moon – Steve Gunn – Folkie strummer from a guy better served with an electric smackdown – C+

Grapevine – Tiesto – as in “I Heard It Through The Grapevine” where Tiesto plays with the bars behind “just about to lose my mind” – B-

Freelance – Toro Y Moi – Not unpleasant house mix – B-

Topanga – Trippie Redd -Two samples run clockwise and counter clockwise and a salt shaker keeps time, another big song from Trippie Redd – B+

Astropsychosis – Two Medicine – – Midlake’s Paul Alexander offers more haunting mood music with a twist – B-

Make Up – Vice, Jason Derulo, Ava Max – Easygoing house track with both Jason and Ava in fine voice – B

Arms Around You – XXXtentacion, Lil Pump, Swae Lee, Maluma – I love everyone on this song but it ends up being just boring middle of the road pop – C

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

The Sun’s Not So Hot In The Sky Today: A Farewell to Summer in James Taylor’s “September Grass”

By Iman Lababedi | August 17, 2022 |

I was happier because I knew I was happy

US Top Ten Albums Tracking 8-5-22 – 8-11-22

By Iman Lababedi | August 17, 2022 |

a snapshot of big hits and high tides, mostly high tides.

Eileen Shapiro: “Portfolio Of A Rockstar Journalist” With Americana Superstar Josh Ritter

By Eileen Shapiro | August 17, 2022 |

There is just a lot to love

Kills Birds At It’s A School Night, Monday August 15th 2022

By Alyson Camus | August 17, 2022 |

the sound seemed to erupt from every side of the room

US Top Ten Singles Tracking 8-5-22 – 8-11-22

By Iman Lababedi | August 16, 2022 |

still on top

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – February 1977 (Volume 8, Number 9)

By Steve Crawford | August 16, 2022 |

pornstache pride

Automatic Announce North American Headlining Tour

By Alyson Camus | August 15, 2022 |

“danceable music for the end of days”

Going Steady: New Singles 8-12-22 -8-18-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | August 15, 2022 |

contracts its world in Nashisms

Sneak Peaks: New Album Release 8-19-22 – 8-25-22

By Iman Lababedi | August 15, 2022 |

let’s take what we are offered

The Twilight Of The Rock N Roll Gods (Parts One To Three)

By Ken Davis | August 14, 2022 |

It’s the music, stupid

Scroll To Top