Skip to content

Going Steady: New Singles 8-4-23 – 8-10-23 Reviewed

On-U In Space – Adrian Sherwood, African Head Charge, Creation Rebel, Lee “Scratch” Perry, LS – I thought Perry would never pass mostly because I had my doubts he was from this planet to start with, this is dub meets electronic beats and sound effects – B

The Worst Pies in London – 2023 Broadway Cast Recording – Annaleigh Ashford, Stephen Sondheim Sweeney Todd 2023 Broadway Company – The bridge is so gorgeous even if the subject matter is anything but gorgeous and it gives us the best yet comedic and triumphant vocal from the genius production currently on Broadway. For some reason, instead of releasing the album they’ve been dribbling out single after single… this is the seventh song an absolute beauty. PS: the late great composer has two new productions arriving for the Autumn season, one a revival, one new – A

Black Leather Jacket – Brian Setzer – nice little rocker about Mick Farren’s favorite piece of clothing – B-

Don’t Make Her Cry – Buddy & Julie Miller – Bob Dylan got a co-wrote credit for working on the lyric and the song is first, well maybe not first, rate Americana yet it fails to ignite, but it is alright though let’s hope and pray it hasn’t overtaken “Crossing The Rubicon” as his final composition. Best verse “When your mind’s bouncing round like a pinball arcade just keep standing now and don’t be afraid. What’s done in the dark comes to the light to stay out of the shadows and do what’s right” – B

Make Up Your Mind – Cordae – I saw him live a coupla years ago and he blew me away, here rap ain’t even the construction, it’s playful stuff, including the rap verse – B

Have A Good Time – Darius Rucker – his fourth single this year and a hoot… no, really – C+

BLOOD ON MY NIKEZ [Feat. Juicy J] – Denzel Curry – excellent OG, vicious rap and two gangsters really bringing in, Juicy J is in especially good form and the chorus is addictive – A-

Paint The Town Red – Doja Cat – Doja raps over “Walk On By” – hard to go wrong – B-

The Bay (feat. Turf Talk) – E-40 – somebody once said Tony Bennett (who left his heart in E-40’s ground zero) was like speaking in melody, E-40 is like rapping in rhythm beats, he raps with the ease in which I actually speak – B

Realest (with Eminem) – Ez Mil – Filipino EZ is joined by his boss Eminem who takes the opportunity to bitch slap The Game and Melle Mel – B-

She Riding – Fetty Wap, Kvngshad – back in May, Fetty was sentenced to six years in prison on drug charges, this is the first release since then and it is breezy, hip hop track with autotune and autoharp – B

Angel – Halle – easily the best thing about the meh live action “The Little Mermaid” where nobody complained about her singing. Halle Bailey was half of the Beyonce find Chloe x Halle, and she has a strong and yet oddly light voice reaching dog whistle time on a bland middle of the road outing – C

East Bound And Down – Herb Alpert – Herb has a new album of country covers on the way, he introduces it with a first rate version of the old Smokey and The Bandits theme – B+

Slide – Lil Yachty – his album of rock and pop emoism early this year and it slashed and burned, so back to rap we go – C+

QUEMA – Ryan Castro, Peso Pluma, SOG – if 2021 belonged to Olivia Rodrigo, 2023 is Peso’s and he adds his lustre to some excellent very street, very urban spanish trap but not regional – B+

Ray Of Solar – Swedish House Mafia – there is nothing that ages worse than former innovators, this is nothing much EDM that fails to ignite – C+

Angel In The Marble – Stormzy – the fourth single off the English superstar rapper, he is sort of the rapping of Idris Elba , and in the East Ender gruff voice he brags for a fine coupla minutes – B+

Left of the Dial – Ed Stasium Mix – The Replacements – from Rolling Stone 1986 (via Genius): ““Left of the Dial” is the story of this girl, a guitar player, Lynn Blakey, who toured with Mitch Easter’s Let’s Active. We got to be friends. She wanted me to write her a letter, but I never write letters. I figured the only way I’d hear her voice was with her band on the radio, left of the dial on a college station. And one night we did. We were passing through a town somewhere, and she was doing an interview on the radio, left of the dial. I heard her voice for the first time in six months for about a minute. Then the station faded out”. Ed does a fine remix, kudos… can’t wait for the box set – A

Good Good – Usher, 21 Savage, Summer Walker – the walking STD joined by two major players with a nothing special return – C

Arrow of Time – Will Butler + Sister Squares – with his brother a born again villain of indie, will is way too prog and clever, though the break is very intense – B-

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo-e1623352788338-reupload
ScreenShot2020-10-05at12.00.04PM-reupload

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

The Daisy Jopling Band To Perform “Who’s Who” At The Transfiguration Church In Tarrytown, NY Sunday May 12th, 2024 7 PM ET

By admin | May 9, 2024 |

The Transfiguration Church in Tarrytown, New York Presents “Who’s Who”, original violin arrangements of iconic songs by The Who performed by the Daisy Jopling Band featuring the Sleepy Hollow High School Chamber Orchestra on Sunday, May 12th, 2024. Location: Transfiguration Church 268 South Broadway Tarrytown, NY 10591 United States Tickets are $25 and can be…

Cyborg Drummer/DJ DRMAGDN Headlining Montauk Music Fest

By admin | April 9, 2024 |

Major Label BMG Records Artist & Producer DRMAGDN Cyborg Drummer / DJ will be making his Montauk Music Fest debut this year in May. DRMAGDN will be the Official Host & MC of The Montauk Music Fest plus play headlining sets on Friday 5/17 and Saturday 5/18 from 10pm-12am at Gurney’s Montauk Resort (290 Old…

RED CARPET EVENT @ Chelsea Table & Stage 4/12/24 Featuring THE AMERICAN RELICS & DRMAGDN

By admin | March 25, 2024 |

On Friday April 12th, 2024 beginning at 6:30 pm ET  there will be a Red Carpet event pre-show sponsored by Tribeca Records at the trendy nightspot Chelsea Table and Stage located in the heart of Chelsea at 152 west 26th street (inside the Hilton Fashion Hotel) in NYC. The Red Carpet will be followed by…

Live Review: Composer Randy Edelman Live at Chelsea T&S “2nd Annual St. Patrick’s Day Massacre” 03/16/24 and Record Release in NYC

By admin | March 17, 2024 |

There was an infinite vitality of velvet green flowing deliciously through the air as Composer Randy Edelman presented his 2nd Annual St. Patrick’s Day Massacre at the trendy new nightspot Chelsea Table & Stage in the heart of NYC on March 16, 2024….. a vivacious close to the spirited Irish Parade. His music is the…

DRMAGDN: Cyborg Drummer/DJ Debuts @ Chelsea T&S With Retro 80’s Party & Red Carpet Event 4/12/24

By admin | February 29, 2024 |

BMG recording artist, producer and World renowned, Global Touring Electrifying Powerhouse, DRMAGDN: Cyborg Drummer and DJ will make his debut at the popular, trendy night spot Chelsea Table & Stage (located at 152 west 26th street inside the Hilton Hotel) on  Friday April 12, 2024 @ 9:00PM. DRMAGDN will be celebrating his high energy brand of Electronic Dance Music (EDM)…

Going Steady: New Singles 2-23-24- 2-29-24 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | February 26, 2024 |

dance pop, gooey confection

US Top Ten Albums Tracking 2-16-24 – 2-22-24

By Iman Lababedi | February 26, 2024 |

75K EAUs is abysmal

Our Friend Tony Orlando’s Farewell Tour

By admin | February 25, 2024 |

“I still hit the ball, I just can’t run the bases!!!”

Sneak Peaks: New Album releases 3-1-24 – 3-7-24

By Iman Lababedi | February 25, 2024 |

contenders for the best punk rock around

Child Bite, Lamb Of God, Pantera At Madison Square Garden, Thursday, February 22nd, 2024, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | February 25, 2024 |

A three hours of hard rock, metal not metal, swift, loud, egoless pure metal

Scroll To Top