Skip to content

Going Steady: New Singles 3-26-21 – 4-1-21 Reviewed

 

Once In A Lifetime – All Time Low – The Fueled By Ramen mainstays on an old fashioned and iffy pop punk – C-

Last Day On Earth – beabadoobee – The Filipino singer songwriter joins with The 1975’s Matt Healy for an addictive slice of power pop with a hook monster to boot – A-

Last Time – Becky Hill – nothing special dance track – C

John L – Black Midi – obstreperous sound plus spoken word – C-

Despair – Black Midi – quietly anthemic math rock, it is the sort of sound that made the UK band’s name – B-

BUZZCUT (feat. Danny Brown) – BROCKHAMPTON, Danny Brown – both Kevin Abstract and Danny Brown are near the top of their game on this life during 21 soundtrack – A-

Miseducation (feat. Lil Wayne) – Calboy, Lil Wayne – the sound of young Chicago, if not young USA, is a real pretty tune with Weezy adding a verse – B

Boys & Girls & Rock N Roll – Cheap Trick – a completely fabulous little rocker from the old timers – B

Beat Freak (ft. lau.ra) – Chris Lake, Riva Starr, lau.ra – EDM DJ, house bass goodie for the dancefloor – B-

BIG PURR (Prrdd) (feat. Pooh Shiesty) – Coi Leray, Pooh Shiesty – terrific little sex rap with power to go viral, helped by Pooh but Coi has the keys in her panties – B

Dancing With The Devil – Demi Lovato – Demi is heavy on the back story and this story of drug dances is a heavy, brooding Bond-y anthem – B

The Moon Is Blue – Future Islands an odd mix of Future Island’s usual wall of sound and a 50s style tinkling piano – B-

Heat Waves (with iann dior) – Glass Animals, iann dior – a goodie from an album I underestimated a little, with an added verse from this week’s model Ian Diorr – B

Boy from Michigan – John Grant- moody electronica produced by Cate Le Bon  – B-

Make Me Feel – Extended Mix – John Summit – electronic indie house  – B

Indecente – Juhn – reggaeton bass dance track – B-

All Your Exes – Julia Michaels – a coupla years ago, Julia was a pop superstar, now she’s just as good but the moment has passed and more’s the pity with a cute verbal hook: “I want to live in a world where all your exes are dead” – B+

Keep Moving – Jungle – a pure burst of disco and horns, with  a lesson in the name – B

Holdin Me Down – King Combs, Future  This has a very strong performance from Future and the two are the antidote to the sexism that permeates r&b and hip hop – B+

MONTERO (Call Me By Your Name) – Lil Nas X – catchy asf, modern gay anthem built towards conversions for hip hop fans and a sideways away from his country rap stuff, I dunno if Lil Nas will do it on this way but I know he deserves to as he starts with a coupla notes on his guitar intro and loops it and uses it on a hip hop, emo (by which I think I mean it has a tune) -SINGLE OF THE WEEK    – A-

Woman You Got – Maddie & Tae – I dunno, maybe “Girl In A Country song” -their only masterpiece but not their best seller, was a fluke,  this one is nothing much – C

Control – Mannequin Pussy – I had tix to seem em in Spring 2019 -opening for Best Coast at Brooklyn Steel, a gig that ended up being cancelled and more’s the pity, this is a tremendous slice of Indie rock and pop and roll it – B+

Hard For The Next (with Future) – Moneybagg Yo, Future –  Future’s second verse of the week, over a disinteresting trap hi hat beat – C+

No Toque Mi Naik – Nicki Nicole, Lunay – “Two of the Gen-Z superstars in Latin music collide in “No Toque Mi Naik.” Argentine singer Nicki Nicole meets up with Lunay in his native Puerto Rico…” it says on Mitu (here), very catchy Latin American pop, really strong and reaching its zenith on Nicki’s English language bridge – B+

Find My Way (feat. Beck) – Paul McCartney, Beck – in 2015, Beck went dancing with Paulie and his wife Natalie and they tore up the dancefloor, so Beck’s remix of the second track on Macca’s latest album enhances the dance elements but this isn’t a patch on the original – C

Limbo – Royal Blood – their usual electronic Brit rock – C

DsharpG (By Shamir) – Sharon Van Etten, Shamir – Sharon’s 2010 song, a good one and Sharon hands the keys to Shamir who sings it beautifully – B-

Cooking With Grease – Shelley FKA DRAM – Dram never really disappoints, this soulful track isn’t prime Dram but the hook -the “Just when you need someone” is stellar – B

You All Over Me (feat. Maren Morris) (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault) – Taylor Swift, Maren Morris – I can’t tell if this was left off Fearless because it wasn’t great or it isn’t great and the Americana country with the twang barely acknowledged is the reason why – C+

Naive – The Kooks, Seeb – in the 00s meet-up for follower in U2 and then Coldplay’s greatest rock band, the Kooks never managed to win the position, though this song in 2006 came close and the remix is fine but unnecessary -B-

GODZILLA – The Veronicas – have the Aussie duo -aka Jess and Lisa Origliasso- missed their chance? This stomps like Godzilla but t is generic, even a little embryonic – C+

Lonely 101 – Tracy Lawrence – pleasant, mainstream, pure country nicely turned as he has some whisky and wisdom to share – B

Only a Song – Van Morrison – 90s style Van singer songwriter entry – B-

Feels (feat. Khalid) – WATTS, Khalid – very sweet vocals, new singer songwriter gets discovered on a three year past track and together a song that should’ve hit big should now hit big – B+

Sky Is Crying – ZHU, Yuna – EDM pop as written with competing beats (one from the bass), and a fine guest singer – B

 

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

The Earliest Bird 9-17-21 – 9-23-21 Top New Recorded Release, Lil Nas X’s “Montero” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 17, 2021 |

Wanna get fucked up the ass? Get famous.

My Top 500 of the 20th Century

By Steve Crawford | September 17, 2021 |

a form of personal jesus

Press Releases For September: Here Are The Artists

By Alyson Camus | September 16, 2021 |

something he learned from his legendary uncle

Rolling Stone’s Latest Top 500 Greatest Songs of All Time List – Bye Bye, Boomer, Bye Bye

By Steve Crawford | September 16, 2021 |

how little this list has in common with the prior ones

Frank Sinatra’s “A Man Alone: The Words And Music Of McKuen” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 16, 2021 |

a disquieted sadness permeates

Biding My Time: Thursday, September 16th, 2021

By Iman Lababedi | September 16, 2021 |

Someday they will match TM and AEG as one of the big three

The 2021 “Legends Of Vinyl’s “Gala Awards Night” New York DJs and Artists Hall Of Fame, Tuesday, September 14th, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 15, 2021 |

we will pass, disco will live on with lov

Brief Encounters: New Album Releases 9-10-21 – 9-16-21 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | September 15, 2021 |

¿No preferirías tener el modelo de este año?

Courtney Barnett Wants You To Remix Her New Songs

By Alyson Camus | September 15, 2021 |

play around with the different stems

Live Review: SohoJohnny Presents The Let Me Help, Inc 9/11 Fashion and Music Celebrity Benefit Gala Concert @Rumi Event Space 9/11/21

By Eileen Shapiro | September 14, 2021 |

The star studded, Red Carpet Let Me Help, Inc benefit was a celebration of New York City fashion week, as well as a tribute to the 20th anniversary of 9/11.

Scroll To Top