Skip to content

Going Steady: New Singles 12-2-22 – 12-8-22 Reviewed

My Swisher Sweet, But My Sig Sauer – $uicideboy$, Germ – the final part of the trilogy drops December 16th, DIRTIESTNASTIEST$UICIDE EP, and if this is the signpost it will be loud and it will be vicious – B

Shittin’ Me – A$AP Rocky – Mr. Rihanna aka A$AP Rocky returns with a song from the November 2022 video game Need For Speed Unbound, but it is a little on the lazy side – B-

PIOMF -DeJ Loaf – third single from her upcoming album, “PIOMF” is a brooding R&B confessional – B

X Gon’ Gon Give It to Ya – Re-Recorded – Orchestral Version – DMX, Czech National Symphony – it sounds on paper like a disastrous concept, but the addition of nerve jangling strings from the Czech National Symphony and pouncing horns on a wonderful recherchez “- B+

If You Still Wit Me (feat. Lil Baby) – Finesse2tymes – in and out of prison since he was fourteen years of age, the Memphis rapper embraces trap as performed via Atlanta – B

Drunk in the Bathtub – Jessie Murph – the eighteen year old alt indie singer songwriter living up to the song title even as she plans it out – B-

It’s In The Book – John Waters – spoken word comedic cover – B-

FTCU (feat. GloRilla & Gangsta Boo) – Latto – in effect this is Latto’s follow-up to the great “Big Energy” and as a mini-meet of first rate rap-dance performers, Latto fucks the club up while house plays on the backing track and GloRilla continuing her trip to this year’s Megan Thee Stallion – SINGLE OF THE WEEK – A-

Pointless – Lewis Capaldi – co-written by Ed Sheeran and it sounds like Ed ten years ago, a sort of meh compliment but better Lewis with Ed than without – B-

Bye Bye Baby – Madonna’s Night on the Club – Madonna, Ricky Crespo – circa Erotica with a whole lotta phut and EDM feelers – B

Lux Æterna – Metallica – nothing fancy on Metallica’s first release in two years but none the worse for being straight up hard rock – B+

Bullet In Your Brain – Motörhead – unreleased song off their final album in 2014, it is an “Ace Of Spades” rip and a classic one – A-

Activated – Mount Westmore, E-40, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg, Too $hort – West Coast superstar has beens throw down the boom with ease – B-

One Mic, One Gun – Nas, 21 Savage – nice match of voices – B

Boy’s a liar – PinkPantheress – I don’t love her but I love her dreamy sorta lullaby for girls who like boys everywhere – B

Doomscrollers – Quasi – fair enough indie rock with Janet Weiss on drums but completely out of time, still the orchestrated background is nice – C+

Escapism. – Raye, 070 Shake – the sublime new Raye, the singer songwriter who branched out on her own in 2020 and hasn’t looked back, with a terrific, and I mean terrific hook – A-

PAIN! – Sheck Wes – Ye is a fan since 2017 but this is not the Wes we know, it is an electronic rumbling piece of art tap – B

Hallelujah – Shenseea – Shenseea, coming off one of the best albums of the year, has the last “Hallelujah” we ever want to hear… though finally, a version we do want to hear – B+

Solitude (with BIA & Lucky Daye) – Snakehips – UK duo of electronic dance with a sleep inducing business as usual – C-

Words – Storefront Church, Phoebe Bridgers – Lukas Frank tributes the lamented Mimi Parker of Low, which explains why Bridgers is adding her voice – B

Happy – Live – The Rolling Stones – “THE ROLLING STONES have announced the release of “Grrr Live!” , the definitive live hits album from the band’s career… the best live band in the world deserve the ultimate live greatest hits album and “Grrr Live!” is it, THE STONES at their best. The album features some of the greatest songs of all time, including “It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)” , “Honky Tonk Women”, “Start Me Up”, “Gimme Shelter”, “Sympathy For The Devil” and “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction”. …I saw em one day before this four days in Jersey and they weren’t that great (here) – B

Lucky Just To Be Here – We Are Scientists – not bad little rock pop track from the 00s stars – B-

Silent Night – 2022 Mix – William Shatner, Iggy Pop – this is uproarious, tuneless, spoken and groaned – C+

Born In Understanding – Whitelands – knockout shoegaze, melodic and lovely and all guitars – B+

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

L.A. Burning, West Coast Concert Picks, January 30th To February 4th

By Alyson Camus | January 29, 2023 |

Ice Cube is playing at the Belasco

Sneak Peaks: Upcoming Album Releases 2-3-23 – 2-9-23

By Iman Lababedi | January 29, 2023 |

return to the top of country

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – January 1983 (Volume 14, Number 8)

By Steve Crawford | January 29, 2023 |

a cow with eighteen udders

Bob Marley One Love Experience At Ovation Hollywood

By Alyson Camus | January 29, 2023 |

“a journey through his life, passions, influences, and enduring legacy”

Yours truly with the true Godfather Giannini Russo who played Carlo in the original Godfather

By admin | January 28, 2023 |

the true Godfather Giannini Russo

UK Top 10 Albums 1-27-23 – 2-2-23

By Iman Lababedi | January 28, 2023 |

Has Brit rock ever been worse?

UK Top 10 Singles 1-27-23 – 2-2-23

By Iman Lababedi | January 28, 2023 |

essence de 2023

Press Releases For January, Here Are The Artists

By Alyson Camus | January 27, 2023 |

A very percussive song

The Early Bird: Top New Recorded Releases 1-27-23 – 3-2-23 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | January 27, 2023 |

the mixes his producer Daniel Lanois didn’t like

The Earliest Bird: Top New Recorded Release 1-27-23 – 2-2-23, Rosalia’s “LLYLM”) Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | January 27, 2023 |

her best since “Milionària”

Scroll To Top