Skip to content

Going Steady: New Single Reviews 3-11-16 – 3-17-16

screen-shot-2016-01-21-at-11-00-55-am

Dangerous Woman – Ariana Grande – Sure, she has a ridiculously big voice, but she needs a song to sing and this is diaphanous in its flimsiness – C

Wild Horses – Birdy – No, not that one. And a similar problem to Ariana’s, now she has gone big she has much worse songs – C

Came Here To Forget – Blake Shelton – I might not tust the purity of his sentiments, presumably for Gwen Stefani, or a sort of Gwen Stefani, and it isn’t very good. But he has so much conviction and the song maintains its power, brooding and powerful, but the song isn’t good enough – B

Green Aphrodisiac – Corinne Bailey Rae _ Gorgeous and quiet jazz song, there is something so bruised about Corinne’s voice nowadays. Whatever she sings, she still sounds sound and beautiful. Terrific song – A

Paranoia – A Day To Remember – Straight ahead hard rock no chaser, pounding drums, rocker – B

Misery – Gwen Stefani – The second goodie off her newbie, and the answer to the Blake track in a manner of speaking. The handclap clip clop pace works fine and the verses are beyond catchy. Really, if assembly lines are sucha  fraud why drive a car? – B+

Everything You’ve Come To Expect – The Last Shadow Puppets, Alex Turner – Art rockers, apparently – C+

Now That I’ve Found You – Martin Garrix – The new old old MOR EDM, though this is more House than anything else – C+

The Community Of Hope – PJ Harvey – This is absolutely the most commercial song she is released since, wow, maybe 2000. It is really terrific, just a straightforward little rocker with a great pace, good lyric (about a community in DC that helps low income families) , nice vocal… who is this again? – A-

Like I Would – Zayn – The weakest of the three singles isn’t bad as far as it goes. Straight up EDM ballad – B

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

Ryan Adams Played Truly Epic Shows In NYC And Philly

By Alyson Camus | May 20, 2022 |

Ryan Adams is currently playing the best shows of his career

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – October 1972 (Volume 4, Number 5)  

By Steve Crawford | May 19, 2022 |

We leap ahead almost a year

April Rose Gabrielli At Cafe Wha, Wednesday, May 18th, 2022, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | May 19, 2022 |

A flatout triumph from a major performer

Brief Encounters: New Albums 5-13-22 – 5-19-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | May 18, 2022 |

New Wave pop bliss out

Haim At Madison Square Garden, Tuesday, May 17th, 2022, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | May 18, 2022 |

I WISH I HADN’T GONE

Cruel World Festival, Sunday March 15th 2022

By Alyson Camus | May 18, 2022 |

a time-capsule type of roster

Creem -America’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – November 1971 (Volume 3, Number 6)

By Steve Crawford | May 17, 2022 |

“Sure, we don’t pay much but then who else do ya know who’ll publish you?”

Gov Ball 2022 Set Times And Recommendations

By Iman Lababedi | May 17, 2022 |

in the immortal words of Jason Isbell to me at Gov Ball a coupla years ago: “let’s do this…”

US Top 10 Singles Tracking 5-6-22 – 5-12-22

By Iman Lababedi | May 17, 2022 |

one of the great top tens of the 2020

US Top 10 Albums Tracking 5-6-22 – 5-12-22

By Iman Lababedi | May 16, 2022 |

old school Puerto Rican underground sounds

Scroll To Top