Skip to content

Brief Encounters: New Albums 10-28-22 – 11-3-22 Reviewed

Light Moving Time – Babehoven – The is singer songwriter Maya Bon and her producer Ryan Albert with first rate singer songwriter confessionals and a dash on indie Americana somewhere in its being – B+

Into The Woods (2022 Broadway Cast Recording) – Broadway Cast – my only complaint about the current revival on Broadway (this one) was its threadbear staging (part of Encores -where Chicago moved from all those years ago), I hear there is a once in a lifetime revival in the West End with stupendous effects and hope we get it here. Till then, soundtracks aren’t staging and anyway, Julia Lester’s “I Know Things Now” making the “High School Musical: The Musical: The Series” a potential Broadway great – A

Club Godfather – Bandmanrill – via Jersey, rapper performs club rap on an exceptional 30 minutes of danceable and intoxicated dance with strong rapping throughout. NLE Choppa welcome here – A-

My Favorite Blue Jeans – DE’WAYNE – black dude with indifferent alt rock that can explode yet it doesn’t get you off – C+

Working On My Karma – dvsn – the Canadian duo, Drake friend, r&b-ers can write a tune and sing it with a skillfulness and coolness vibes abound, I’ll take em over PARTYNEXTDOOR any day – B+

Marginalia – ella jane – the young singer songwriter’s second album is part of the sort of post-90s girl pop we’ve been getting, but the songs are a little overperformed and the hooks take too long to settle – C+

Actual Life 3 (January 1 – September 9 2022) – Fred Again…  – has made his music into a form of brooding alty EDM – C+

Snofall – Jeezy, DJ Drama – The Atlanta trap innovator with the top mixtape guy and you can’t be disappointed by their old school trap – B-

Scarecrow Outtakes – John Mellencamp – doesn’t ALWAYS suck. Ofter, sure, though these demos and remixes of “Small Town” from Scarecrow are worth your while – B

Live au Fonda Theatre de Los Angeles, 2014 – Johnny Hallyday – Johnny wasn’t really a French Presley. He was really a French Cliff Richards, with a Presley carnality Richards doesn’t possess. What would play as restraint in UK, plays as self-indulgence in France. The music is too loud and in your face, but when put together it is a rock and roll original: Hallyday couldn’t be compared to anybody really, accept himself. Ridiculously alive, and powerful, a force of nature, he was an all time great, a breathtaking spectacle of male sexuality, his Chuck Berry cover is fabulous – A

Changes – King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – the aptly named EP finds the psychedelic garage band from Australia adding jazz and classic rock to their sound – C+

Kutthroat Bill: Vol. 1 – Kodak Black – If Kodak Black would leave the guns to his bodyguard and the drugs to the handlers, he might well be one of the most successful rappers in the business. But even a Presidential pardon can’t keep him out of lockdown, and as he once rapped “If I could change I swear I would .. I tried everything but I’m just so hood.” He raps about OG-ing, something he knows a lot about, and he raps about love, and on the best song on his new album, performs a dance song while glomming on to some dancehall moodiness on with Trinidadian new master Prince Swanny, song for song it is the best pure rap I’ve heard in 2022 and better than the Kendrick Lamar for one: never has sex and violence been quite so appealing (well, maybe prime Jigga) – ALBUM OF THE WEEK – A

Impossible Princess (Deluxe Edition) – Kylie Minogue – for its 25 year anniversary, the Australian, pintsized disco diva gives us an extended version with mostly remixes – B-

Bell Bottom Country – Lainey Wilson – on the same planet as the Miranda Lambert and Kelsea Ballerini with a hard rock back beat and a terrific singer her twangs and yet sounds like no one else – B+

hugo – Loyle Carner – from London (and pals with Kae Tempest), this is modern day spoken word veering into rap with excellent backing – B

BLUSH – PVA – the London electronic trio don’t drop the bass but they pfft all day long – C+

MAKER’S DESIGN – Sherwyn – alternative r&b, part of that whole scene that shows up all the time, folks like Steve Lacey – C+

Revolver Box Set – The Beatles – one of my top ten albums of all time and I’ve already gone on record as dubbing the Beatles Box Set potentially their best ever. But it isn’t. Even The White Album had double the songs and Get Back? Forget about it… still, I have no kick against hearing early takes on clear standards though Giles remixes aren’t all that – A-

Alpenglow – Trampled By Turtles – the name makes you think of a jam band but no, these alt country bluegrass rockers, from Duluth!, have been together eighteen years and while the ballads are boring (miss “Central Hillside Blues”, the rockers rock righteously – B-

SURRENDER 40 SONGS, ONE PLAYLIST – U2 – a greatest hits including a handful of remixes, based upon the new Bono memoir – B

10 – Westside Gunn – the Griselda partner invites friends like A$AP Rocky, Run The Jewels, and his brother and his cousin from the Griselda boom bap believers for a fairly good rap performance with RZA producing the first song, “Intro” – B

Ma’ I Got A Family (A Gangsta Grillz Special Edition Hosted by DJ Drama) – YoungBoy Never Broke Again – a follow up to last week’s album, and it is a fine piece of work, better than 3800 Degrees and a very well made set of songs – B

Marvelous – Yung Gravy – trap meets r&b and harmless enough, “Mrs. Worldwide” is terrific – C+

Leave a Comment





Amazon_Smile_logo
LET-ME-HELP-LOGO

Support Let Me Help Inc by shopping at smile.amazon.com

UK Top 10 Albums 12-2-22 – 12-8-22

By Iman Lababedi | December 3, 2022 |

I wish Cliff had beat Stormzy -who I admire but not here

UK Top 10 Singles 12-2-22 – 12-8-22

By Iman Lababedi | December 3, 2022 |

we are all now sold on “Anti-Hero”

Press Releases For December: Here Are The Artists

By Alyson Camus | December 2, 2022 |

A horrorcore anthemic track with creepy vocals and abrasive guitars

The Early Bird: Top New Recorded Releases 12-2-22 – 12-8-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | December 2, 2022 |

they don’t quite show growth they do show

The Earliest Bird: Top New Recorded Release 12-2-22 – 12-8-22, Yemi Alade’s “African Baddie” Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | December 2, 2022 |

One of the best albums of the year

Birthday Giving At Let Me Help

By SohoJohnny Pasquale | December 1, 2022 |

Want to join me in supporting a good cause?

Creem – America’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll Magazine, Reviewed Issue By Issue – December 1980 (Volume 12, Number 7) 

By Steve Crawford | December 1, 2022 |

Boy Howdy! did Susan Whitall put together a solid team of writers

Brief Encounters: New Album Releases 11-25-22 – 12-1-22 Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | December 1, 2022 |

its own glammy road not travelled

In Memory Of The Impeccable Miss Perfect: Lindsey Buckingham And Christine McVie AT Beacon Theatre, Thursday, August 10th, 2017, Reviewed

By Iman Lababedi | November 30, 2022 |

Christine’s face

Eileen Shapiro: “Portfolio Of A Rockstar Journalist” Goes To Camden, Sees Adam Ant In 2018

By Eileen Shapiro | November 30, 2022 |

“This was his best performance ever.”

Scroll To Top