Press Releases From May 2020: Here Are The Artists

Written by | May 23, 2020 23:27 pm | No Comments

press releases from May

Jeff Rosenstock among the press releases from May


Ten press releases from May with songs by Frances Quinlan, Thao & The Get Down Stay Down, Jeff Rosenstock and Henrik Lindstrand

Frances Quinlan (Hop Along) – ‘Rare Thing’: An ambitious indie pop song, a bit whimsical, a bit tuneless, with high vocals going into some plaintive confessional tone while exploring many avenues. It’s the solo project of Frances Quinlan of Hop Along who released her debut EP ‘Likewise’ earlier this year via Saddle Creek. She also recorded a very special NPR’s Tiny Desk concert HERE, as well as an on-camera interview series called Quick Drawl with Frances and Friends, where she chats with friends and guests while drawing their portrait in real-time. This episode features writer and actor Jason Mantzoukas (Big Mouth, Parks and Rec, How Did This Get Made?).

Charm La’ Donna – ‘So & So’: A semi-depressing mellow rap over languid and ambient guitars. Charm La’ Donna is the VMA-winning choreographer for Kendrick Lamar, Rosalia, Dua Lipa, Rosalia, Selena Gomez, and Meghan Trainor, but she apparently doesn’t want to limit her work to simply engineering the dance sequences, ‘I am not so-and-so, or so-and-so/ I am gold, you should know,’ she sings in her debut single, ‘So & So,’ produced by Grammy winner Bongo ByTheWay, and the tune comes with a lyric video.

Thao & The Get Down Stay Down – ‘Temple’: It starts with a distinctive surf/Thai guitar line with strangely unsynchronized beats, followed by fierce but sweet high-pitch vocals over a romantic synth. The song, that brings plenty of exotic surprises turning into a sort of funky dancefloor, is the titled song of the fifth album by the Oakland-based band fronted by singer and songwriter Thao Nguyen. It comes with a video, one of the three released for the album.

Tiagz – ‘They Call Me Tiago (Her Name is Margo)’: A bouncing and sinister-tuned hip hop track from Tiagz’s new EP ‘They Call Me Tiago’ released via Epic Records. This is the accomplishment of the new artist’s Tik Tok dominance to upwards of 60 million-plus streams and a meteoric rise through a combination of agile marketing acumen, D.I.Y. production, and head-turning rhymes. The five-track EP kicks off with the animated music video of this title track, but get ready for more tunes from the Ottawa man they call Tiago.

Lionel Boy – ‘Lost’: Blurry underwater voices emerge from this sun-soaked reverb-y track mixing spacey synthesizers, impromptu breakbeats, and noisy fuzzy bedroom pop. ‘Getting lost is a simple way to describe the decade. Love can be romantic, intoxicating, and destructive, but whatever shape it takes, it’s always sincere,’ says Lionel Boy of the nostalgic love song. It comes from his debut EP ‘Who is Dovey?’, a new signing for LA tastemakers Innovative Leisure.

Jeff Rosenstock – ‘NODREAM’: With a part angry, part commanding loud delivery, Rosenstock builds up a punk song in a very unexpected way, as the song morphs into something completely different mid-way. The track, which balances hardcore and post-punk angst, is the titled track of his fourth full-length album, recorded with Jack Shirley (Deafheaven, Hard Girls, Joyce Manor) at Oakland’s Atomic Garden, released via Polyvinyl Record Co., and available for free download via Quote Unquote Records, with all donations going to Food Not Bombs.

Alex the Astronaut – ‘Lost’: Youthful vocals for a joyful hooky pop song and bright chorus by Alex Lynn aka Alex the Astronaut. The Australian singer, songwriter and storyteller has always had a supernatural knack for capturing human experience in song, and her latest single, ‘Lost’ is a heart-swelling, folk-inflected pop, music’s bright-eyed anthropology study that uses sprawling narratives and rich vignettes to unravel the joys and struggles of everyday life. It comes with a handclap and a video.

Alaina Castillo- ‘no vuelvas a mirar atrás’: A sentimental Spanish song with the sensual and sexy vocals of Alaina Castillo. The 19-year-old Mexican-American bilingual singer-songwriter has released her debut Spanish EP ‘mensajes de voz’ filled with achingly beautiful ballads, showcasing her powerful voice. The single, that she describes as ‘a reminder to myself to live in the present and not in the past’ was covered by major Latin publications such as Telemundo, Univision, Billboard Latin, Remezcla, and Rolling Stone Colombia, amongst many others.

Henrik Lindstrand – ‘Søndermarken’: A very ambient sound with a delicate cinematic coming from Swedish musician and contemporary classical composer Henrik Lindstrand. Keys fall like water drops and the Mogwai-esque neo classism atmosphere is combined with an emotional melody. The song comes with an interesting video, and it is from Lindstrand’s recently released sophomore album ‘Nattresan,’ out now on One Little Indian Records.

KIITA – ‘Thinking About You’: A melancholic electro-pop song with dreamy-airy vocals and a production flirting between hip hop and lush guitar chords. This is the leadoff track from ‘BAYARD THE BLOODHOUND’ a new EP by KIITA, a 17-year-old pop songstress from Columbus, OH. new EP. It’s out via Young Forever/Epic Records and the song comes with a video HERE.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *