Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds Scored National Geographic Channel, Ron Howard-Produced Series ‘Mars’

Written by | October 26, 2016 7:06 am | No Comments


Warren Ellis and Nick Cave


In case Nick Cave’s fans didn’t get enough of their favorite great artist last month – he released ‘Skeleton Tree’ and a movie ‘One More Time With Feeling’ as a companion to the album – there is much more to come.

Nick Cave and his famous friend-acolyte and musician Warren Ellis have teamed up to write the score for National Geographic Channel’s ‘Mars’. The six-part series was directed by Everardo Gout and produced by Ron Howard and Brian Grazer.

The premise of the series shows a spaceship preparing to land on Mars when the crew notices some problem and the crew has no other choice but become an interplanetary species. The show is made using the current scientific vision of how we will possibly get to Mars, and was done under the scientific supervision of astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson.

As for Cave and Ellis’ score, it’s like having another Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds album, according to one of the 13 tracks which has just surfaced. The series will be out on November 11th via Milan Records, and one of the songs titled ‘Mars Theme’ (there is no other way to name it) was posed on soundcloud. And damn does this sound like a new Cave song escaped from his last album! It’s as dark and mysterious as anything the band has released, but probably more menacing than anything from Skeleton Tree. I was surprised when I heard about this and honestly I was expecting space-y music but not a song with lyrics and vocals, so this promises to be much more than a soundtrack… meanwhile Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds have announced new dates for January 2017 in Australia and New Zealand, including a headline slot at the Sydney Festival. These are the first live dates since the release of ‘Skeleton Tree’, and everyone (me first) is hoping for the announce of other dates and an US extension of the tour.

Here is the track list of ‘Mars’
01 Mars Theme
02 Mars
03 Daedalus
04 Earth
05 Science
06 Voyage
07 Space X
08 Space Station
09 Symphony of the Dead
10 Planetarium
11 Aftermath
12 Towards Daedalus
13 Life on Mars


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *